Today's Paper

8 Opposition MPs suspended from RS for ‘unruly behaviour’

Night vigil:Suspended MPs protesting on the Parliament premises in New Delhi on Monday night.SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT  

The Rajya Sabha on Monday suspended eight Opposition MPs for their “unruly” behaviour with Deputy Chairman Harivansh on Sunday during the debate and voting on two farm sector Bills.

Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu also rejected the Opposition’s no-confidence motion against the Deputy Chairman, saying the notice was not in proper format.

However, the suspended MPs refused to leave the House and the day’s proceedings saw repeated disruptions and adjournments.

After four adjournments, Vice-Chairman Bhubaneswar Kalita adjourned the House till 9 a.m. on Tuesday.

Speaking on the events of Sunday after the completion of Zero Hour and special mentions, Mr. Naidu said the incidents were unfortunate and the image of Parliament had been “tarnished”.

He said some members had entered the well of the House, thrown papers, broken microphones and abused Mr. Harivansh while the two Bills were being discussed. He added that the Deputy Chairman had been physically threatened.

“It pained me a lot because what happened yesterday in the House is unfortunate, unacceptable and condemnable,” Mr. Naidu said, adding that the members had also violated COVID-19-related protocols.

He said the Deputy Chairman would have called for voting, which was the demand of the protesting MPs, had the House been in order.

Mr. Naidu also rejected the Opposition’s notice of no-confidence against Mr. Harivansh for not allowing a division of votes.

Stating that he had received a letter from Leader of the Opposition, Ghulam Nabi Azad, and 46 other MPs, Mr. Naidu said the no-confidence notice was not in the proper format, and the 14 day-notice period was not followed as the session is set to end on October 1.

The government then moved a motion for the suspension of eight MPs — Derek O’Brien and Dola Sen of the Trinamool Congress; Sanjay Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party, Congress’s Rajeev Satav, Syed Nazir Hussain and Ripun Bora; and K.K. Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) — which was passed by voice vote.

Later, addressing a press conference to put forth the government’s view on the developments in the Rajya Sabha, Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said the suspended MPs had violated Rule 256 of the general rules of procedure by not leaving the House after being suspended.