The Hindu Theatre Fest

The Hindu Theatre Fest forays into its 15th edition. It was originally conceived and launched as The Hindu MetroPlus Theatre Fest in 2005 in Chennai. The Hindu Theatre Fest aims to build brand equity with an audience that is perceived to provide a platform for celebrating high-quality theatre as well as encourage young theatre groups. Over the years, the Fest grew in both ambition and size. Plays from Germany, USA, Britain, Sri Lanka, and Korea have been staged in addition to showcasing the best theatre from all over the country. This annual festival has since been rolled out in multiple cities, including Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Coimbatore, becoming the largest privately organised theatre festival in the country.

The Fest has graduated from being an event to an institution in its own right through citizen reviews published in the paper and an annual coveted The Hindu Playwright Award evaluated by an objective and acclaimed jury. Nearly 8,000-10,000 people attend each year with over 75% giving a rating of 4 out 5 for the festival. The Hindu Theatre Fest has been home to plays such as Dear Liar by Motley, The God of Carnage by QTP, 12 Angry Jurors by Rage Productions, Yatagarasu by J Productions and Dur Se Brothers, Loretta by Arpana and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs by Mike Daisey, USA, and actors such as Naseeruddin Shah, Rathna Pathak-Shah, Shernaz Patel, Rajat Kapur, Kalki Koechlin, Nandita Das, Saurab Shukla, Arundhathi Nag and Anu Menon.