National Tennis Championship: Rashmikaa Shrivalli Bhamidipaty gets off to a winning start

Hesitant start: Rashmikaa Shrivalli made light of falling behind in the first set as she raced away to straight-set win in the first round.

Hesitant start: Rashmikaa Shrivalli made light of falling behind in the first set as she raced away to straight-set win in the first round.

Rashmikaa Shrivalli Bhamidipaty overcame a hesitant start to beat the sixth seed and former finalist Sai Samhitha 7-5, 6-3 in the women’s first round of the Fenesta National tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Monday.

On a pleasant day, when only the high humidity teased the players and tested their fitness, the fluent stroking Shrivalli bounced back from being down 3-5 in the first set to win in straight sets.

In the pre-quarterfinals, Shrivalli will play qualifier Jagmeet Kaur who battled for three hours and 35 minutes to tame Vanshika Choudhary 6-7(5), 6-4, 7-6(2).

In another match, the crafty game of Sai Dedeepya prevailed as she outplayed fifth seed Prathiba Narayan 6-3, 6-1. She will play Shreya Tatavarthy in the next round.

Robust form

Third seed Vaidehi Chaudhari was in robust form as she blanked Himaanshika Singh. Salsa Aher and Yubarani Banerjee were also in equally impressive form, as they set up a second round against each other.

In the men’s event, second seed Aryan Goveas handled the talented left-hander Neeraj Yashpaul with composure for a fluent win.

Third seed Ishaque Eqbal was in a spot of bother against former national champion Mohit Mayur who won the first set, but retired after one game in the second with a knee injury. It was a disappointment for the packed gathering, as the two provided a high quality fare.

“The knee was paining. I didn’t want to push. I hope to play the doubles,” said Mohit.

Battling past

Another finalist of the past, Suraj Prabodh battled past Rishi Reddy in three sets.

In the junior boys’ event, leading players like Dev Javia, Mann Shah, Kabir Hans, Krishan Hooda, Chirag Duhan, Sushant Dabas, Madhwin Kamath and Uddayvir Singh cruised into the second round.

In the junior girls’ event, in which the seeded players had a bye in the first round, Sanvi Ahluwalia fought past Harleen Kaur 7-6(4), 7-5. In another match, Kavya Palani recovered from the brink of defeat to beat Tanushri Pandey 3-6, 7-6(3), 6-4.

The results (first round): Men: K.S. Dheeraj bt Anurag Nenwani 5-7, 6-3, 6-4; Suresh Dhakshineswar bt Fahad Mohammed 6-2, 6-1; Ishaque Eqbal bt Mohit Mayur 4-6, 1-0 (retired); Paras Dahiya bt Rishab Agarwal 6-3, 6-3; Kunal Anand bt Lakshya Gupta 6-2, 6-4; Jatin Dahiya bt Lakshit Sood 6-4, 6-2; Suraj Prabodh bt Rishi Reddy 6-2, 3-6, 6-3; Aryan Goveas bt Neeraj Yashpaul 6-4, 6-2.

Women: Tejasvi Kate bt Avika Sagwal 6-3, 6-1; Salsa Aher bt Sunskrithi Damera 6-0, 6-1; Yubarani Banerjee bt Deeksha Manju 6-2, 6-2; Vaidehi Chaudhari bt HImaanshika Singh 6-0, 6-0; Sai Dedeepya bt Prathiba Narayan 6-3, 6-1; Shreya Tatavarthy bt Sharannya Gaware 6-2, 6-2; Rashmikaa Shrivalli Bhamidipaty bt Sai Samhitha 7-5, 6-3; Jagmeet Kaur bt Vanshika Choudhary 6-7(5), 6-4, 7-6(2).

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 17, 2022 4:33:32 am |