Sowjanya beats Aishwarya

Wild card Sowjanya Bavisetti beat Aishwarya Agrawal 6-2, 6-3 in the first round of the $10,000 ITF women’s tennis tournament at the DLTA Complex here on Monday.

Sowjanya, the talented left-hander from Hyderabad, fought for every point with determination, in stopping Aishwarya, a member of the Commonwealth Games training programme.

The two had beaten each other once before. However, the 15-year-old Sowjanya showed scant respect for her opponent’s game and retained her attacking style, after a strong start when she led 4-0 in the first set.

Sowjanya will next meet the winner of the match between Alexandra Kolesnichenko of Uzbekistan and Sweta Kumari Solanki.

Ankita blanks Arantxa

Another wild card Ankita Raina proved too good for qualifier Arantxa Andrady as she blanked her in a contest that still lasted an hour and four minutes.

The fourth-seeded Isha Lakhani warmed up for the tougher challenges ahead with a smooth victory over Chutharat Rungtein of Thailand. She will next face Parul Goswami, who was comfortable in her straight-set triumph over qualifier Sindhu Nila.

In doubles, the second-seeded Sanaa Bhambri and Poojashree Venkatesh downed the runner-up of last week, Dalila Jakupovic of Slovenia and Ashmitha Easwaramurthi.

The results: Singles (first round): Ankita Raina bt Arantxa Andrady 6-0, 6-0; Sowjanya Bavisetti bt Aishwarya Agrawal 6-2, 6-3; Parul Goswami bt Sindhu Nila 6-3, 6-1; Isha Lakhani bt Chutharat Rungtein (Tha) 6-2, 6-1.

Doubles (pre-quarterfinals): Emily Webley-Smith (GBr) and Alexandra Kolesnichenko (Uzb) bt Anil Amiraghyan (Arm) and Subbadharmi Sundaram (U.S.) 6-3, 6-1; Nova Patel and Rishika Sunkara bt Natasha Kanvinde (GBr) and Lavanya Nath 6-1, 6-0; Parija Maloo and Sweta Kumari Solanki bt Alina Tseplukhova (Rus) and Deepna Vazirani 6-2, 6-4; Ankita Raina and Shweta Rana bt Sowjanya Bavisetti and Ikttesh Chahal 6-4, 5-7, 12-10; Parul Goswami and Rashmi Teltumbe bt Trang Huynih Phuong Dai (Vie) and Aishwarya Agrawal 6-3, 4-6, 10-5; Treta Bhattacharya and Shivika Burman bt Prerna Bhambri and Garima Vatwani 6-4, 6-3; Anastasia Malhotra (Jpn) and Isha Lakhani bt Chutharat Rungtein (Tha) and Nithya Raj 6-3, 6-3; Sanaa Bhambri and Poojashree Venkatesh bt Dalila Jakupovic (Slo) and Ashmitha Easwaramurthi 6-3, 7-6(3).

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 28, 2020 1:01:04 PM |

Next Story