Rawat rallies past Gowda

Unranked Siddharth Rawat fought his way past Vinod Gowda 2-6, 6-4, 7-5 in the boys' first round of the Asian junior tennis championship at the R.K. Khanna Stadium here on Tuesday.

Watched by a handful of spectators and guarded by a bunch of policemen in an arena with a seating capacity of about 4000, Rawat recovered from 4-5 down in the decider, when his opponent was serving for the match, to pull through.

Gowda wilted as he delivered a string of double faults in what proved to be the last game of the match. It was a gutsy performance by both the players who had to endure the additional duty of being ball boys themselves, and it was natural that the electronic scoreboard struggled to keep pace with their game, considering the overall efficiency of organisation.

Shahbaaz Khan bounced back after losing the first set to oust Yuki Muramatsu of Japan, ranked nearly 300 places above him.

Shweta Rana rallied from 1-4 down in the second set to record a 6-4, 7-5 victory over Anna Clarice Patrimono of Philippines, ranked higher than her. Natasha Palha rode on her good form to defeat Anastasiya Prenko of Turkmenistan in three sets.

It was a profitable exercise for the first round winners, as they were assured of 20 ITF points that would gain entry for them in tournaments around the world.

The results (first round):

Boys: Rakshay Thakkar bt Ritwik Anand 3-6, 6-2, 6-1; Kaichi Uchida bt Chinmay Handa 6-1, 6-0; Dmitriy Borodkin (Kaz) bt Prashanta Priyadarshi 6-3, 6-4; Surath Tarun Nath bt Jatin Mehra 6-0, 6-2; Chi-Shan Jao (Tpe) bt Kunal Anand 6-3, 6-3; Sumeet Shinde bt Suraj Konwar 6-2, 3-6, 6-3; Garry Tokas bt Rohit Jain 4-6, 7-6(4), 6-3; Jatin Dahiya bt Wei-Sheng Kao (Tpe) 1-6, 6-4, 6-0; Warit Sornbutnark (Tha) bt Vlasier Khate 6-3, 6-0; Vaidik Munshaw bt Pulok Bhattacharya 6-1, 6-1; Justin Ho (Hkg) bt Ajay Yadav 6-2, 6-0.

Yash Deshpande bt Arpit Sharma 7-5, 7-5; Saurabh Singh Rajshekhar Raman 6-2, 6-1; Leander Lazaro (Phi) bt Garry Amor Singh 6-3, 7-6(5); Mansingh Athare bt Anirudh Jain -1, 6-0; Wen-Chun Liang (Tpe) bt Abhimanyu Singh 6-2, 6-2.

Ronit Bisht bt Sai Teja Paladugu 6-1, 6-1; Sai Saran Reddy bt Trivesh Singh 5-7, 6-2, 6-4; Artem Tarasov (Uzb) bt Maninder Singh 6-0, 6-0; Shahbaaz Khan bt Yuki Muramatsu (Jpn) 1-6, 6-4, 6-4; Siddharth Rawat bt Vinod Gowda 2-6, 6-4, 7-5; Chih-Jen Ho (Tpe) bt Rishabh Mehra 6-0, 6-0.

Girls: Shweta Rana bt Anna Clarice Patrimono (Phi) 6-4, 7-5; Ayaka Okuno (Jpn) bt Manya Nagpal 6-0, 6-1; Natasha Palha bt Anastasiya Prenko (Tkm) 7-5, 4-6, 6-1; Sharon Paul w.o. Vidya Bharath; Riko Sawayanagi (Jpn) bt Ankita Bhatia 6-4, 6-2; Vanya Dangwal bt Nattawadee Kotcha (Tha) 6-3, 6-2.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 8, 2020 7:09:20 AM |

Next Story