ITF Futures: Gajjar gets past Sitaram

Rohan Gajjar. Photo: Vivek Bendre

Rohan Gajjar. Photo: Vivek Bendre  

Sixth-seeded Rohan Gajjar beat qualifier Sudanwa Sitaram 6-4, 6-2 in the first round of the ITF Futures tennis tournament at the DLTA Complex here on Monday.

Gajjar later partnered Karan Rastogi, who is returning to the circuit after a 15-month injury lay off, to beat the fourth-seeded Dutch pair of Peter Lucassen and Jan-Wouter Roep 6-1, 6-4.

“It felt really great to be back on court in a competitive match. We didn’t drop serve the whole match. Obviously, there are some chinks. I know where I stand. I’m happy to be playing and winning again,” said Rastogi.

Former national champion Vinod Sridhar lost 5-7, 6-1, 6-3 to American Shane La Porte.

Vinod took the first set with a break in the 12th game. But the left-hander was unable to maintain momentum and dropped serve in the first game of the second set. The American ran away with the second set for the loss of just one game.

In the decider, the players traded breaks early but La Porte managed to find another coast home.

The fifth-seeded Chris Eaton of Britain did not have to sweat much or go on top gear to get past surprise wild card recipient Vidhan Vyas.

The results: Singles (first round): Vijayant Malik bt Yannick Nelord 6-3, 6-3; Johnny Arcilla (Phi) bt Yew-Ming Si (Mas) 4-6, 7-5, 6-1; Seung-Jae Lee (Kor) bt Seong-Yoon Chung (Kor) 6-2, 6-2; Rohan Gajjar bt Sudanwa Sitaram 6-4, 6-2; Chris Eaton (GBR) bt Vidhan Vyas 6-3, 6-0; Shane La Porte (US) bt Vinod Sridhar 5-7, 6-1, 6-3.

Doubles (pre-quarterfinals): Ashutosh Singh & Vishnu Vardhan bt Kyle Brassington (GBR) & Yannick Nelord 6-2, 6-0; Yew-Ming Si (Mas) & Kento Takeuchi (Jpn) bt P. C. Vignesh & Abhijeet Tiwari 6-2, 6-4; Rohan Gajjar & Karan Rastogi bt Peter Lucassen & Jan-Wuter Roep (Ned) 6-1, 6-4; Tim Bradshaw & Max Jones (GBR) bt Mithun Murali & Vijay Sundar Prashanth 6-4, 0-6, 10-3; Vijayant Malik & Akash Wagh bt Shane La Porte & Jonathan Tragardh (US) 6-3, 4-6, 10-6; Rupesh Roy & Vivek Shokeen bt Sriram Balaji & Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan 6-3, 6-3; Young-Jae Kim & Young-Jun Kim (Kor) bt Rohan Gide & Ronak Manuja 6-1, 6-1.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 23, 2020 12:49:23 AM |

Next Story