Bangalore summer season from May 13

The 26-day Bangalore summer racing season will commence on Saturday (May 13) and conclude on Friday (August 4). Racing will be held on Saturdays and Sundays except during the last week.

Briefing the media here on Wednesday, the BTC Chairman Mr. Y. Jagannath said the Kingfisher Ultra Derby Bangalore (Grade I) will be sponsored by M/s. United Breweries for the 30th consecutive year. The added money would be ₹1.5 crore including the club's contribution of ₹75 lakhs and the sponsors contribution of ₹75 lakhs. With the club guaranteeing a total stakes of ₹2.5 crore, it will be the second richest race, next only to the Indian Derby.

The added money for the Fillies Championship Stakes (Grade I) and the Colts Championship Stakes (Grade I) will be ₹50 lakhs each. These races are expected to garner total stakes in excess of ₹75 lakhs each. In the context of publication of rates under the Goods and Service Tax in the second half of May 2017, particularly in relation to the levy of betting on horse racing and pending evaluation of its impact on racing and as a matter of financial prudence, the Club has decided to publish the prospectus for the Summer Meeting only for May. Prospectus for the remainder of the season only after the Goods and Service Tax becomes public. In the interim period, the stakes will be paid on par with the Bangalore Winter Meeting 2016-17.

Normally a maximum of 12 acceptors are permitted in ordinary races. Now it has been increased to 15 on classic days and the last day of the season. Schedule of acceptances and declarations have been revised. Live streaming of the races can be watched on www.bangaloreraces.com on pay per race day basis of ₹200. Existing practice of availing live streaming on payment of annual subscription of ₹4,500 will continue.

Bookmakers will not be in operation during the season. About 890 horses including 120 outstation horses will be stabled in the BTC premises and 775 horses are expected to participate during the season. BTC has granted ‘A’ license to trainers Neil B. Devaney, Praveen Jesu, Dheeraj Venkataswamy, M. Rajendra Singh, Parvati Byramji and K.P.G. Appu.

The reconstituted Board of Appeal is: Mrs. V. Harimohan Naidu (Chairman), Mr. H. Kumara Swamy, Mr. K.R. Prakash, Mr. I.S. Praveen Sood and Mr. Shivakumar Kheny.

Racing dates: May 13, 14, 20, 21, 27 and 28. June 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, 18, 24 and 25. July 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 23, 29 and 30. August 3 and 4.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 16, 2021 8:33:03 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/races/bangalore-summer-season-from-may-13/article18419524.ece

Next Story