Bangalore Summer Meeting from May 14

The Bangalore Summer Meeting will commence on Saturday (May 14) and conclude on Friday (August 5). Racing will be conducted over 26 days and will be held on Saturdays and Sundays except during the last week.

Briefing the media here on Thursday, the BTC Chairman A.C. Satish Chandra said: The Kingfisher Derby Bangalore will be sponsored by M/s United Breweries for the 29th year. This year the added money would be Rs 1.5 crores inclusive of the club’s contribution of Rs. 75 lakhs and an equal contribution of Rs. 75 lakhs from the sponsor. With the club guaranteeing a total stakes of Rs. 2.5 crores, it will be the second richest race, next only to the Indian Derby.

The added money for the Fillies Championship stakes and the Colts Championship stakes will be Rs. 50 lakhs each. These races are expected to garner total stakes in excess of Rs. 75 lakhs each. The Bangalore St. Leger which was confined to four-year-olds all these years, will be open to older horses also.

Added money has been increased by 20 per cent as compared to Bangalore Summer 2015 in respect of all Sweepstakes races. Level of stakes has been increased by 11.7 per cent as compared to last Summer in respect of all ordinary races and performance linked incentives in respect of Bangalore based horses has been increased by 40 per cent. The pay out during the season is expected to be around Rs. 25 crores for 220 races. Overall rating scale has been compressed to 55 kg. Races have been restructured by reducing each handicap race to 10 kg.

The club commission on win and place pools have been reduced by 0.5 per cent with effect from May 14, 2016. The Government of India has increased the limit for TDS on winning in horses racing from 5,000 to 10,000 w.e.f June 1, 2016.

About 900 horses including 87 outstation horses are stabled in the BTC premises and 800 are expected to participate. French jockey David Raymond Henri Breux will be riding for M.A.M. Ramaswamy Chettiar of Chettinad Charitable Trust during the season.

In addition to the existing Sweepstake races three more Sweepstake races have been framed — Krishnaraja Wadiyar Cup for 4-y-o and upwards (1,600m), Racing Patrons Cup for 4-y-o and upwards (1,200m) and Mystical Million for maiden 3-y-o only (1,600m).

Live streaming of Bangalore races can be watched on www.bangaloreraces.com on pay per race day basis at Rs. 200. Existing practice of availing live streaming on payment of annual subscription will also continue. 640 betting terminals are currently in operation, including 115 betting terminals being operated at nine off-course betting centres.

The board of Appeal has been constituted as under: Dr. K.M. Srinivasa Gowda, Mr. P. Kodandaramaiah, Mr. N.S. Megharikh, Mr. I.S.N. Prasad, Mr. L. Revannasididdaiah and Mr. Shivakumar Khenny.

Racing dates: May: 14, 15, 21, 22, 28 and 29. June: 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, 19, 25 and 26. July: 2, 3, 9, 10, 16 17, 23, 24, 30 and 31. August: 4 and 5.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 19, 2021 1:58:24 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/races/bangalore-horse-races-bangalore-summer-meeting-from-may-14/article8590536.ece

Next Story