660 horses to take part in Madras season

About 660 horses will take part in the 45-day Madras racing season which will be held from November 5, 2010 to March 25, 2011. More than one hundred and fifty two-year-olds will be seen in action.

Mr. B. K. Amanullah Khan, Secretary, Madras Race Club, who briefed the press on Sunday, said that the total stake money offered was Rs. 14,04,44,500 (including the value of cups). Three hundred and thirty three races have been framed for the season. Ninety one of them are cup races. To perpetuate the memory of former MRC Committee Members, Class I cup races are being run in the names of P. M. Antony, S. S. Mothilal, V. S. Dhanasekar, M. Vijayakrishna, OM. SP. L. AL. Alagappa Chettiar and Zamindar of Chikkavaram.

Outstation horses are eligible to take part only in the following races: The South India 1000 Guineas (Gr. II), South India 2000 Guineas (Gr. II), The South India Oaks (Gr. I), South India Corporation South India Derby Stakes (Gr. I), South India St. Leger (Gr. II), Capricorn Stud Farm Christmas Cup (Gr. III) and the Madras Gold Vase (Gr. III).

To become eligible for the incentives and to participate in any race, horses 6-years-old and below starting with races for Class IV and above, should have arrived here before October 27, 2010.

Fifteen trainers and 40 jockeys will be in action during the season.

Racing dates: Nov. 5, 6, 11, 13, 17, 18, 24, 25 and 29. Dec. 2, 3, 6, 9, 10 (South India 1000 Guineas), 15, 17, 20, 23 (South India 2000 Guineas), 24, 29 and 30. Jan. 2011: 5 (South India Oaks), 6, 12, 14 (South India Corporation South India Derby Stakes), 17, 20, 21, 24, 28 and 31. Feb. 3, 11 (South India St. Leger), 14, 17, 18, 24, 25 and 28. March. 11, 12, 17, 18, 24 and 25.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 3, 2021 1:30:25 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/races/660-horses-to-take-part-in-Madras-season/article15799665.ece

Next Story