Other Sports

Shooting | Abhishek-Yashaswini duo finishes on top

Delightful day: The mixed air pistol medallists — Harshada Nithave and Aniket (silver), Abhishek Verma and Yashaswini Deswal (gold), and Deepak Sharma and Annu Raj Singh (bronze).

Delightful day: The mixed air pistol medallists — Harshada Nithave and Aniket (silver), Abhishek Verma and Yashaswini Deswal (gold), and Deepak Sharma and Annu Raj Singh (bronze).  


Haryana shooters on the prowl in mixed air pistol, clinches all three gold

Haryana dominated the mixed air pistol competition, winning all the three gold medals in the 63rd National shooting championship on Wednesday.

The Olympic quota winners Abhishek Verma and Yashaswini Singh Deswal bagged the gold, beating Harshada Nithave and Ankiet of Maharashtra 16-10.

Problem of plenty

It was a problem of plenty for Haryana as it also had Manu Bhaker, who had won all the four World Cup gold medals this season, with Saurabh Chaudhary. Manu had won the Asian championship gold with Abhishek Verma, and won the World Cup Finals gold as well with Russian Artem Chersounov.

Manu had to, however, be content competing in the junior section of the mixed air pistol, and clinched the gold with Sarabjot Singh. The duo defeated Punjab’s Khushseerat and Arshdeep Banga 16-8.

Manu had earlier won the air pistol gold medals in both the women’s and junior sections of the National championship, apart from the silver in the 25-metre sports pistol and the junior gold.

Haryana completed its domination as Shiva Narwal and Shikha claimed the youth gold in mixed air pistol, beating Maharashtra’s Ajinkya Chavan and Janhavi Deshmukh 16-10.

Anjum dominates again

In the women’s rifle 3-position event, Anjum Moudgil continued her domination as she beat Gaayathri Nithyanandam to the gold by a 2.6 point margin after topping qualification with 1172. Nischal won the bronze, ahead of Bhakti Bhaskar Khamkar, Kajal Saini, Shriyanka Sadangi, Raj Chaudhary and Meghana Sajjanar.

The other leading shooters like Elizabeth Susan Koshy (1159) and World Cup silver medallist Lajja Gauswami (1157) failed to make it to the final.

Nischal went on to win the junior gold for Haryana, pipping Bengal’s Ayushi Podder by 0.8 point.

The results:

10m mixed air pistol: 1. Haryana (Abhishek Verma, Yashaswini Singh Deswal) 16 (393, 578); 2. Maharashtra (Harshada Nithave, Aniket) 10 (387, 568); 3. Air India (Deepak Sharma, Annu Raj Singh) 16 (383, 575); 4. SSB (Yogita, Vikram) 10 (380, 571).

Juniors: 1. Haryana (Manu Bhaker, Sarabjot Singh) 16 (381, 577); 2. Punjab (Khushseerat, Arshdeep Banga) 8 (383, 563); 3. Uttar Pradesh (Sharvan Kumar, Himanshi) 16 (379, 567); 4. Rajasthan (Aadhya, Aman) 12 (380, 557).

Youth: 1. Haryana (Shiva Narwal, Shikha) 16 (383, 568); 2. Maharashtra (Ajinkya Chavan, Janhavi Deshmukh) 10 (381, 556); 3. Uttar Pradesh (Monu Kumar, Devanshi) 16 (376, 575); 4. Punjab (Rajkanwar, Navdeep Kaur) 6 (374, 556).

50m rifle 3-position: Women: 1. Anjum Moudgil 449.9 (1172); 2. Gaayathri Nithyanandam 447.3 (1161); 3. Nischal 434.3 (1160); Team: 1. Punjab 3467; 2. Haryana 3465; 3. Maharashtra 3462.

Juniors: 1. Nischal 451.9 (1160); 2. Ayushi Podder 451.1 (1159); 3. Prasiddhi 436.1 (1158); Team: 1. Madhya Pradesh 3446; 2. Maharashtra 3414; 3. Punjab 3413.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Sport Other Sports
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 23, 2020 7:26:19 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/shooting-abhishek-yashaswini-duo-finishes-on-top/article30397471.ece

Next Story