Other Sports

Sai Krishna and Michelle triumph

Overnight leaders G.V. Sai Krishna of Vijayawada and Michelle Catherina of Chennai emerged clear champions in the RMK Residential School National sub-junior chess championship that concluded here on Tuesday.

In the final round, Sai Krishna lost a pawn but fought well to level the position and get a draw on the 53rd turn. Narayanan could not play on as each side had a rook and minor piece each without pawns. Sai Krishna scored ten points while Narayanan finished second with nine points. Sai Krishna said his game against Sayantan Das was his best.

Host Tamil Nadu swept the podium in the girls' section.

Michelle Catherina checkmated the National under-13 champion Monnisha on the 71st move with black pieces after winning two pieces for a rook as early as the 17th turn. This was Michelle's maiden National title.

“She comes directly from school and even after examinations to my academy,” said GM R.B. Ramesh, her coach.

Similar to the first table game, defending champion Nandhidhaa of Namakkal won two pieces on the 33rd move to defeat Madurai's Meenu Priya in 59 moves. Nandhidhaa finished second and Mahalakshmi third.

In the closing ceremony, G. Srinivasan, Chairman-cum-Managing Director, United India Insurance Company Ltd., gave away the trophies.

Important results (Eleventh round): Boys: S.L. Narayanan drew with Sai Krishna; Girish Koushik bt K.G. Chaithanyaa; Shardul Gagare drew with Sayantan Das; G. Akash lost to R. Ganesh; Sidhant Mohapatra lost to B. Kumaran; Mugil Jayavel lost to Akash Iyer; Arjun Bharat bt S. Prasanna.

Girls: G.K. Monnisha lost to Michelle Catherina; Meenu Priya lost to P.V. Nandhidhaa; G. Lasya drew with M. Mahalakshmi; Sonakshi Rathore lost to Srija Seshadri; Isha Bhave lost to Madhurima Shekhar; Arunima Goyal lost to Bala Kannamma; Andria D'Souza bt Mahasweta Kumar.

Final placings (tie-break order): Boys: 1 G.V. Sai Krishna (AP) 10/11; 2 S.L. Narayanan (Ker) 9; 3 Girish Koushik (Kar) 8.5; 4-10: Akash Iyer (TN), Sayantan Das (WB), Shardul Gagare (Mah), K.G. Chaithanyaa, R. Ganesh, B. Kumaran (all TN), Arjun Bharat (Kar) 8 each.

Girls: 1 P. Michelle Catherina (TN) 9.5/11; 2 P.V. Nandhidhaa (TN) 9, 3-7: M. Mahalakshmi, Se Meenu Priya (both TN), G. Lasya (AP), Madhurima Shekhar (Del), Srija Seshadri (TN) 8 each; 8-11. G.K. Monnisha (TN), Nisha Patkar (Kar), Bala Kannamma (TN), Andria D'Souza (Kar) 7.5 each.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 20, 2021 8:46:06 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/sai-krishna-and-michelle-triumph/article2007302.ece

Next Story