National archery: Maiden title for Dindor

October 19, 2014 11:50 pm | Updated May 23, 2016 04:45 pm IST - NEW DELHI:

Vakil Raj Dindor in action during the recurve men's individual final. Photo: Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

Vakil Raj Dindor in action during the recurve men's individual final. Photo: Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

A lesser known Vakil Raj Dindor toppled some well-known archers on his way to win the recurve men’s individual title on the concluding day of the National archery championship at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Sunday.

The 22-year-old won four tie-shoots in six rounds. In the semifinals, Dindor competed with Tarundeep Rai shot-for-shot to put the seasoned Services archer under pressure and clinch the tie-breaker 8-6.

In the fascinating summit clash, Dindor took a 2-0 lead in the first set. Atanu Das replied strongly to level the scores before going on to enjoy a 5-3 lead. However, the Petroleum man slipped a bit as his last set of arrows brought him three 8s and Dindor shot 9, 8 and 9.

Both hit the 8 circle in the tie-shoot, but Dindor was declared the victor for shooting closer to the centre.

L. Bombayala Devi beat her Railways mate Rimil Buruily in another tense final, grabbing her second National title.

The results: Recurve: Men: Individual: Final: Vakil Raj Dindor bt Atanu Das 5-5 (tie-shoot 8*-8); Third place: Tarundeep Rai bt Binod Swansi 6-4. Semifinals: Atanu Das bt Binod Swansi 6-4; Vakil Raj Dindor bt Tarundeep Rai 5-5 (tie-shoot 8-6).

Quarterfinals: Binod Swansi bt Mangal Singh Champia 6-2; Atanu Das bt Ranjit Naik 6-4; Tarundeep Rai bt Th. Sanatomba Singh 6-2; Vakil Raj Dindor bt M. Prasanna Kumar 7-3.

Team: Final: Jharkhand bt Uttar Pradesh 6-2; Third place: Railways bt Madhya Pradesh 5-1.

Women: Individual: Final: L. Bombayala Devi bt Rimil Buruily 5-5 (tie-shoot 10-9); Third place: Satbir Kaur bt Komal Sharma 7-1.

Semifinals: Bombayala Devi bt Komal 6-2; Rimil bt Satbir Kaur 6-0.

Quarterfinals: Komal bt Sulekha Singh 6-2; Bombayala Devi bt Antara Basak 6-0; Rimil bt Rupal Dhama 6-2; Satbir Kaur bt Laxmi Rani Majhi 6-4.

Team: Final: Jharkhand bt Railways 5-1; Third place: Punjab bt SPSB 6-2.

Mixed team: Final: Jharkhand bt Manipur 6-0; Assam bt Railways 6-2.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.