Other Sports

Diwakar Prasad triumphs

Diwakar Prasad.   | Photo Credit: HANDOUT_E_MAIL

International Master Diwakar Prasad Singh of Southern Railway scored a final round victory over Varun Krishnan to become the first player to win the Adyar Times FIDE-rated chess tournament for the third time at the Bapalal Bhavan in Valmiki Nagar, Thiruvanmiyur here on Sunday.

Diwakar Prasad, 35, had won this prestigious event in 2006 and in 2009. Unlike the penultimate day, when he agreed for two quick draws, Diwakar Prasad went for his chances and won with brilliant play. Diwakar Prasad's tie-break which was clearly behind Ram S. Krishnan did a magical turn on the final day.

Overnight leader and Tamil Nadu champion Ram S. Krishnan has to wait one more year to win this event.

Sai Prahlad shocked International Master Balasubramaniam with the white pieces to take the third place with 7.5 points.

The trophies and cash prizes totalling Rs. 1,20,000 were given away by S.P. Ambrose, Managing Editor, Adyar Times and Lion Ramachandran, Chairman, MSLC Trust.

The event was organised by the Tamil Nadu State Chess Association.

The results (final round):

R. Ashwath drew with Ram S. Krishnan, D.P. Singh bt Varun Krishnan.

Sai Prahlad bt R. Balasubramaniam, Sai Vishwesh lost to P. Lokesh, Anirudh Aiyengar lost to P.U. Midhun.

Final placings (tie-break order):

1-2. D.P. Singh, Ram S. Krishnan 8/9 each; 3 K. Sai Prahlad 7.5; 4-6. R. Ashwath, P.U. Midhun, P. Lokesh 7 each.

7-19. Sa Kannan, Varun Krishnan, J. Arun, K. Chidambaram, M. Arvind, A. Arun, B. Kumaran, Pr Hirthickkesh, Osama Salim. N. Venkatesan, Mani Bharathy, A. Muthaiah, M. Aadhityaa 6.5 each. — Arvind Aaron

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 23, 2021 1:43:36 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/diwakar-prasad-triumphs/article2292010.ece

Next Story