Other Sports

Delhi Open chess: Naiditsch crowned champion

On the podium: Arkadij Naiditsch, the winner, is flanked by runner-up Ziaur Rahman, left, and third-place finisher Mohammad Nubairshah.

On the podium: Arkadij Naiditsch, the winner, is flanked by runner-up Ziaur Rahman, left, and third-place finisher Mohammad Nubairshah.   | Photo Credit: Rakesh Rao


As anticipated, Arjadij Naiditsch took a quick, 18-move draw with Alberto David and strolled across the finish line to win the Delhi International Open chess tournament here on Tuesday.

The top-seeded Azerbaijan GM tallied 8.5 points from 10 rounds to collect the winner’s share of ₹5,00,077.

After winning seven of his first eight rounds, Naiditsch proved that he had no equal in the competition. Thereafter, two friendly draws were enough for him to justify the pre-event expectations.

Bangladesh’s Ziaur Rahman, who drew with M. Karthikeyan in 82 moves and topped a three-way tie for the second spot, received ₹4,00,077.

Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh and Hungary’s Adam Hovarth, too, tallied eight points and collected ₹3,00,077 and ₹2,50,077 respectively. Ten players tied at 7.5 points for the fifth place.

Barring draws on the first and fourth, all the leading boards saw close battles. In fact, from the fifth to the 14th board, all games proved decisive.

IM norm for Koustav

National junior champion Harsha Bharathkoti won his final round game against Ukrainian GM Vitaly Sivuk to match M. Karthikeyan’s tally of 7.5 points. The day also produced an International Master norm for Koustav Chatterjee.

In the ‘C’ category, Anirudh Jain won the title with 9.5 points from 10 rounds.

The caravan travels to Chennai for the Chennai Open beginning on January 18.

Leading results (10th round): Arkadij Naiditsch (Aze, 8.5) drew with Alberto David (Ita, 7.5); M. Karthikeyan (7.5) drew with Ziaur Rahman (Ban, 8); Adam Hovarth (Hun, 8) bt Akash Iyer (7); Muhammad Khusenkhojaev (Tjk, 7.5) drew with Andrei Devitkin (Rus, 7.5); N.R. Vignesh (7) lost to Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh (8); Attila Czebe (Hun, 7.5) bt Deep Sengupta (6.5); Sergei Tiviakov (Ned, 7.5) bt Marat Dzhumaev (Uzb, 6.5); Koustav Chatterjee (6.5) lost to Adam Tukhaev (Ukr, 7.5); Vitaly Sivuk (Ukr, 6.5) lost to Harsha Bharathakoti (7.5); Vaibhav Suri (7.5) bt D. Bala Chandra Prasad (6.5); Saptarshi Roy Choudhary (6.5) lost to Deepan Chakkravarthy (7.5).

Final standings: 1. Naiditsch (prize-money: ₹5,00,077), 2. Rahman (4,00,077), 3. Nubairshah (3,00,077), 4. Horvath (2,50,077), 5. Karthikeyan (2,00,077), 6. Suri (1,50,077), 7. Tiviakov (1,00,077), 8. Alberto (75,077), 9. Deepan (60,077), 10. Tukhaev (50,077).

Best lady players: 1. Mary Ann Gomes (6.5 points; ₹15,000), 2. V. Varshini (6; 12,000), 3. Angela Franco Valencia (Columbia) (5.5; 10,000).

Best performer (below 2399 rating): 1. K. Ratnakaran (6.5 points; 15,000), 2. D. Bala Chandra Prasad (6.5; 12,000), 3. Rajesh Nayak (6; 8,000).

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Other Sports
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 27, 2020 9:29:18 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/delhi-open-chess-naiditsch-crowned-champion/article22451154.ece

Next Story