Volkswagen drivers scorch the track

Seasoned campaigner: Septuagenarian D. Vidyaprakash (Prime Racing) of Coimbatore topped the time charts in FP2.

Seasoned campaigner: Septuagenarian D. Vidyaprakash (Prime Racing) of Coimbatore topped the time charts in FP2.  

Indian Touring Cars category likely to be a close affair

The weather pattern has changed considerably all of a sudden. It’s a bit cooler now but the country’s talented stars may turn on the heat once again as they battle it out in the second round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship that began at the Kari Motor Speedway here on Friday.

The drivers went through the routine Free Practice (FP) sessions and the young guns of Volkswagen Motorsport took everybody by surprise with their speedy show. And, that’s going to make the premium Indian Touring Cars (ITC) category a close affair.

Experienced Arjun

Karthik Tharani (01:08.672s), Dhruv Mohite (01:08.989) and Ishaan Dodhiwala (01:09:145), representing Volkswagen, clocked some of the fastest timings. But, with an experienced racer like Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) in the line-up, it may be pretty hot for them on the race day.

Arjun had to sit out FP2 with turbo issues and in FP1 no timings were recorded from the transponder of his car as it was not fitted in the designated spot. The team is awaiting a replacement for the turbo from the team’s base in Bengaluru.

“We are happy with the performances of our cars but we expect a stiff competition over the next two days,” said Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India.

If the young Volkswagen stars created some magic on the circuit, Septuagenarian D. Vidyaprakash (Prime Racing) from Coimbatore did likewise topping FP2 wth a timing of 01:10.700 even as the other competitors opted to sit out.

Rupesh sizzles

Salem’s Rupesh Siva Kumar (Momentum Motorsports) was the quickest in the Formula LGB 1300 class. He stopped the clock at 01:09.451 in FP2 followed by Bengaluru’s Sohil Shah (M Sport) 01:09.546.

Mumbai racer Saurav Bandyopadhyay went fastest in the Volkswagen Ameo Class, while Bengaluru’s Rithvik Thomas (Race Concepts) posted the quickest time of 01:14.231 in the Super Stock category.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 28, 2020 1:05:29 PM |

Next Story