Sandeep-Prakash duo wear the JK Tyre Hornbill Rally crown

Keeping it simple does the trick

December 05, 2019 07:28 pm | Updated 10:59 pm IST - Kohima

Triumphant: Sandeep Mukherjee and co-driver M. Prakash strike a happy pose.

Triumphant: Sandeep Mukherjee and co-driver M. Prakash strike a happy pose.

Call it shock or surprise, Sandeep Mukherjee (Kolkata) and his co-driver M. Prakash (Erode) finished on top in the open class of the JK Tyre Hornbill Rally (TSD), organised by NAMSA, here on Thursday.

Even as the people from this part of the State were dancing and singing the whole day through, Sandeep, the 66-year-old was busy driving safe and secure on the road while Prakash was quickly calculating the time on the clock. And, that did a world of good as the duo managed to get past a superior bunch of drivers for the top honour.

Sandeep, who has a rich TSD experience, was obviously excited as it was his maiden Hornbill event. “It was Prakash’s interest and, I just came for him and it’s really surprising that we had won it,” he said.

“We were on an Alto and, from the start we decided to keep it simple on the road. The route (65-km) was damn easy which we never expected. We kept the car under control and were rewarded with the victory,” he added.

Prakash was equally delighted, “Tomorrow is my second wedding anniversary and, for me this comes as a very special gift. I am going to cherish it for a long time.”

Defending champion Gagan Sethi (Sabathullah Khan) was extremely disappointed. “We should have made it because it was that simple. Somehow, we missed out on the Time Controls rather early and it cost us dear,” said the two-time champion,

The rally attracted about 35 participants of which the open class saw seven professional drivers fighting it out for the coveted title.

The results Cars: Open: 1. Sandeep Mukherjee & M. Prakash 00:00,46; 2. Subhir Roy & Nirav Mehta; 3. Chibrolang Wakhang & Nagarajan.

Bikes: 1. Vishall Das & Gairick Khan 00:02.33; 2. Rehman Khan & Deepak Singh; 3. Kolhousetlio Rio & Wapang.

North East category: 1. Yanger Aier & Mezhurovi Keditsu 00:09.05; 2. Thecachutuo Kire & Neiba Kire; 3. Nitoka Chophi & Philip Lam.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.