Rajini stamps his class, wins in style

Winning move: Jagan Kumar clinches the Pro-stock 165cc with this last-lap pass over Rajiv Sethu.   | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Veterans Rajini Krishnan (RACR) and Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) posted brilliant but contrasting victories in their respective categories to light up the second round of the MRF-MMSC FMSCI National motorcycle racing championship at the MMRT, here on Saturday.

Rajini, 41, stamped his authority and class while winning the race in the premier Pro-stock 301-400cc category after starting from P6.

On the other hand, Jagan, 31, exchanged leads with arch-rival and pole-sitter Rajiv Sethu (Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing) in the Pro-stock 165cc before clinching the cliff-hanger with a last-lap overtake with little separating them.

Both Rajini and Jagan thus notched their third consecutive wins in the championship having scored a double apiece in Round-1 last month.

The results (provisional – all six laps unless mentioned):

National Championship: Pro-stock 301-400cc (Race-1): 1. Rajini Krishnan (RACR) (11mins, 21.868secs); 2. P.M. Soorya (Rockers Racing) (11:23.279); 3. Rahil Shetty (Gusto Racing) (11:23.414).

Pro-stock 165cc (Race-1): 1. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (11:46.731); 2. Rajiv Sethu (Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing) (11:46.778); 3. KY Ahamed (TVS Racing) (11:47.691).

Novice (Stock 165cc) Race-1: 1. Anfal Akdhar (Rockstar Racing) (13:05.852); 2. Allwin Xavier (Sparks Racing, Thrissur) (13:05.980); 3. Sarvesh Balappa (Sparks Racing, Hubballi) (13:17.967).

One-Make Championship organised by Madras Motor Sports Club:

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup — NSF 250R (Race-1): 1. Kavin Quintal (11:08.113); 2. Mohsin Peramban (11:22.860); 3. Sarthak Chavan (11:22.959 – incl 10-sec penalty for jump start).

CBR 150 (Race-1): 1. Prakash Kamath (13:14.859); 2. Shubankar Joshi (13:23.925); 3. Johann Reeves Emmanuel (13:27.157).

Hornet 2.0 (Race-1): 1. Kevin Kannan (13:26.735); 2. Alwin Sundar (13:35.033); 3. C. Rajkumar (13:35.134).

TVS Apache Open (RR310, Race-1): 1. Navaneeth Kumar (11:49.658); 2. Amarnath Menon (11:50.606); 3. Vivek Pillai (11:50.729).

Rookie (RTR 200, Race-1): 1. Jinendra Kiran Sangave (12:48.856); 2. V. Chiranth (13:04.132); 3. Shreyas Copparam Hareesh (13:04.992).

Girls (RTR 200, Race-1, 5 laps): 1. Rakshitha Dave (11:15.447); 2. Renuka Gajendran (11:30.442); 3. Zigna Pamnani (11:39.959).

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 20, 2021 9:41:36 AM |

Next Story