Motorcycle racing championship: Ahamed, Anish hog limelight; Sethu makes it six in a row

Three cheers, TVS! K.Y. Ahamed, centre, the winner, flanked by No. 2 Jagan Kumar, left, and No. 3 Deepak Ravikumar.

Three cheers, TVS! K.Y. Ahamed, centre, the winner, flanked by No. 2 Jagan Kumar, left, and No. 3 Deepak Ravikumar.  

TVS Racing sweeps podium in the premier pro-stock 301-400cc category; Venkatesan’s run continues

K.Y. Ahamed led a podium sweep for TVS Racing in the premier pro-stock 301-400cc category, while Anish Shetty spearheaded a 1-2-3 for Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing, notching up his fifth consecutive win in the pro-stock 201-300cc class as the fourth round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National motorcycle racing championship at the MMRT on Sunday.

Earlier, international rider Rajiv Sethu continued his winning spree in the popular pro-stock 165cc category after overcoming a poor start, as Idemitsu Honda Ten10 team swept all the podium spots.

This was 21-year-old Chennai-based Sethu’s sixth win in a row. Also continuing his golden run was I. Venkatesan in the novice (stock 165cc) category as he headed a 1-2 finish for Team Moto Maniacz Racing with Y. Manoj in tow. For the Chennai-based Venkatesan, it was his fourth win on the trot.

Ryhana Bee, the 22-year-old from Chennai, secured her third consecutive win in the girls’ category of the National championship to give herself a 35-point lead over defending champion and Sparks Racing teammate Ann Jennifer, who finished second ahead of Alisha Abdullah (Alishaa Racing).

The fifth and final round will be held at the same venue from September 27 to 29.

The results (provisional):

National championship: Pro-stock 301-400cc (race-2): 1. K.Y. Ahamed (TVS Racing) 15:29s; 2. Jagan Kumar (TVS) 15:30.137; 3. Deepak Ravikumar (TVS) 15:31.307.

Pro-stock 201-300cc (race-2): 1. Anish Shetty (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing); 2. Abhishek Vasudev (IHTR) 16:10.234; 3. Aravind Balakrishnan (IHTR) 16:20.165.

Pro-stock 165cc (race-2): 1. Rajiv Sethu (IHTR) 16:04.365; 2. Sarath Kumar (IHTR) 16:04.708; 3. Kevin Kannan (IHTR) 16:17.731.

Novice (stock 165cc, race-2, 6 laps): 1. I. Venkatesan (Moto Maniacz Racing) 13:15.876; 2. Y. Manoj (Moto Maniacz) 13:16.699; 3. Abhimanyu Gautam (Sparks Racing) 13:17.100.

Girls (stock 165cc, 5 laps): 1. Ryhana Bee (Sparks) 11:10.964; 2. Ann Jennifer (Sparks) 11:14.255; 3. Alisha Abdullah (Alishaa Racing) 11:24.427.

One-make championship: TVS Open (RR 310, race-2): 1. R. Anand (Chennai) 15:56.926; 2. Vivek Pillai (Chennai) 15:58.525; 3. Anup Kumar 16:00.556.

Novice (RTR 200, race-2, 6 laps): 1. I. Venkatesan (Chennai) 13:19.642; 2. Y. Manoj (Chennai) 13:19.928; 3. Alwin Sundar (Chennai) 13:20.311.

Idemitsu Honda Talent Cup – NSF 250R (race-3): 1. Md. Mikail (Chennai) 14:38.263; 2. Geoffrey Emmanuel (Chennai) 14:49.888; 3. Kritik Vasant Habib (Gadag) 14:50.114.

CBR 150 (race-2, 6 laps): 1. Lal Nunsanga (Aizawl) 13:13.907; 2. Samuel Martin (Bengaluru) 13:15.559; 3. S. Rajsaswanth (Tiruchi) 13:15.960.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 17, 2020 7:11:09 PM |

Next Story