Karna Kadur snatches a dramatic win

Dean Mascarenhas tops INRC-2 category

Updated - April 24, 2022 08:46 pm IST

Published - April 24, 2022 06:13 pm IST - Chennai

Karna Kadur, right, and co-driver Nikhil Pai after their triumphant race.

Karna Kadur, right, and co-driver Nikhil Pai after their triumphant race. | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Karna Kadur and co-driver Nikhil Pai (Arka Motorsports) survived a titanic battle to win the MRF 45th South India Rally which doubled up as the first round of the Blue Band Sports FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship 2022, here on Sunday.

Kadur put his right foot down when it mattered most, in the last of the nine special stages on Sunday as he beat the ever-charging Dean Mascarenhas (co-driver Gagan Karumbaiah) by 4.6 seconds after a see-saw battle. 

The 2021 National champion Aditya Thakur (Virender Kashyap) of Chettinad Sporting did just enough to finish third overall, some 53.3 seconds behind Mascarenhas.

Winner of the Asia Cup round of the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship at the same venue four weeks back, Kadur, who enjoyed a 2.9 second overnight lead over Mascarenhas, stretched the gap by another two in Sunday’s first Stage (SS-6).

However, Mascarenhas charged back in SS-7 by making six seconds on Kadur to take a 2.9 secs lead, while Thakur was content to hold the third position. 

After the service break, Kadur was at full throttle to make 2.6sec on Mascarenhas in SS-8 for a slender 1.7 secs lead going into the final stage. He then went even quicker to put another 2.9 secs over Mascarenhas to clinch the overall title for a winning start to the 2022 season.

Provisional classification (After Leg-2): Overall & INRC: 1. Karna Kadur & Nikhil Pai (Arka Motorsports) (01Hr, 44mins, 52.700secs); 2. Dean Mascarenhas & Gagan Karumbaiah (01:44:57.300); 3. Aditya Thakur & Virender Kashyap (Chettinad Sporting) (01:45:50.600).

INRC-2: 1. Mascarenhas & Karumbaiah (01:44:57.300); 2. Thakur & Kashyap (01:45:50.600); 3. Suhem Kabeer & Jeeva Rathinam (01:46:38.400).

INRC-3: 1. Jahaan Singh Gill & Suraj Keshava Prasad (SNAP Racing) (01:48:51.500); 2. Kuber Sharma & Kunal Kashyap (01:49:25.200); 3. Daraius Neville Shroff & Arjun Dheerendra (Slideways Industries) (01:50:15.200).

INRC-4: 1. Prakhyat Shirole & Supreet S (01:55:23.200); 2. Yeshwanth Padala & Bharath SM (01:56:25.100); 3. Rupesh Kholay & Varun Satyanarayan (02:01:45.000).

Junior INRC: 1. Jahaan Gill & Suraj (01:48:41.500); 2. Arnav Pratap Singh & Arjun SSB (SNAP Racing) (01:50:47.400); Shivani Pruthvi & Deepti Pruthvi (01:54.15.500).

FMSCI Gypsy Cup: 1. Himamshu Arora & Vikram Thakur (02:00:16.200); 2. Darshan Nachappa & S Dinesh (Ammyfield Rallying) (02:03:38.900); 3. Rajeev Yadav & Mohit Malik (02:07:55.300).

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.