Jagan and Mithun register maiden victories

Blazing away: Jagan Kumar got it right for the first time in five starts this season.  

Defending champion Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) secured his first win of the season in five starts in the opening race of the Super Sport Indian (165cc) class in the third round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National motorcycle racing championship at the MMRT here on Saturday.

Mithun Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing) also registered his maiden victory in the Pro-Stock 165cc class.

Earlier, pole-sitter Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) fought his way to a close win over Gusto Racing’s Amarnath Menon and Satyanarayana Raju in the Pro-Stock 301-400cc class. Chennai’s Shruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) recorded her first-ever win in the Girls’ (Stock 165cc) category.


“I am very happy to score my first-ever win in the National championship after a few podium finishes in the past,” said a delighted Shruthi.

Jagan had to work hard for his win, as he was stretched by his younger teammate K.Y. Ahamed who put in the fastest lap of the race.

Shruthi Nagarajan.

Shruthi Nagarajan.  


The win took Jagan’s tally to 87 points, followed by Ahamed (76) and Rajiv Sethu (70) ahead of the second race on Sunday.

The results (provisional, all six laps unless mentioned):

Pro-Stock (301-400cc): Race 1: 1. Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) 11:37.278s; 2. Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing India) 11:37.392; 3. Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing India) 11:39.378.

Super Sport Indian (165cc): Race 1: 1. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) 11:46.715; 2. K.Y. Ahamed (TVS Racing) 11:46.807; 3. S. Mathana Kumar (Honda Ten10 Racing) 11:50.406.

Pro-Stock (165cc): Race 1: 1. Mithun Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing) 12:09.580; 2. Naresh Babu (RACR) 12:10.041; 3. S. Sivanesan (TVS Racing) 12:19.089.

Girls (Stock 165cc, 5 laps): 1. Shruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) 11:28.978; 2. Alisha Abdullah (Team Alisha Abdullah) 11:29.648; 3. Ryhana Bee (Sparks Racing) 11:29.901.

MMSC One-Make championship (Novice) - TVS (Apache RTR 200): Race 1: 1. Karthik Mateti (Hyderabad) 13:44.310; 2. R. Anand (Chennai) 13:49.157; 3. Suhail Ahmed (Chennai) 13:49.298.

Girls (5 laps): 1. Ann Jennifer (Chennai) 11:52.938; 2. Ryhana Bee (Chennai) 11:53.005; 3. Lani Zena Fernandez (Puducherry) 12:43.126.

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup (CBR 150): Race 1: 1. Mohamed Mikail (Chennai) 12:54.158; 2. Kartik Vasant Habib (Gadag) 13:04.798; 3. K.K. Anandhu (Chennai) 13.23.689; Race 2: 1. Mohamed Mikail (Chennai) 13:03.204; 2. K.K. Anandhu (Chennai) 13:21.196; Kartik Vasant Habib (Gadag) 13:28.357.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 18, 2021 12:15:19 AM |

Next Story