Gill leads 1-2 finish for MRF Tyres

Driving to glory: Gaurav Gill and Stephane Prevot of Team MRF Tyres celebrate their win in the International Rally of Whangarei on Sunday.  

Gaurav Gill of Team MRF Tyres overturned a 33-second deficit to win the International Rally of Whangarei, the first round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship, here on Sunday.

Overnight leader and teammate Ole Christian Veiby, who finished second behind Gill, led by 23 seconds at the half-way mark after the first loop of three Special Stages. But he suffered brake failure on his Skoda Fabia R5 in the very first stage after service which cost him one minute, 22.6 seconds.

The 20-year-old Norwegian was then docked a penalty of one minute, 30 seconds for reporting nine minutes late to the start of the next stage which effectively ruined his chances of scoring a win in his maiden APRC appearance.

Reigning champion Gill (co-driver Stephane Prevot), also in a Race Torque-prepared Skoda Fabia R5, seized the chance to cruise home, sparing two minutes, 02.8 seconds to Veiby.

It was the Indian’s third New Zealand crown and seventh APRC win in a row, following his clean sweep of six last year when he took his second championship title.

Provisional classification: 1. Gaurav Gill & Stephane Prevot (Team MRF Tyres) 2:35: 06.8s; 2. Ole Christian Veiby & Stig Rune Skjoen (Team MRF Tyres) 02:37:09.6; 3. Roberter Blomberg & Lars Andersson (Mpart Sport) 02:52:52.3.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 25, 2021 7:09:46 AM |

Next Story