Ahamed, Jagan star for TVS Racing

Banking hard: TVS Racing’s K.Y. Ahamed in action in the premium Pro-Stock 301-400cc category.  

Bad news awaited TVS Racing’s Deepak Ravikumar and K.Y Ahamed the top two finishers of the premium Pro-Stock 301-400cc the other day in the MRF MMSCI FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the Kari Motor Speedway here.

During the post race scrutiny it was found that there were some technical infringements based on which both were disqualified. Satyanarayana Raju and Karthik Matetio (both Gusto Racing) were elevated one-two followed by Asfak Ahamed (Team Speedup Racing).

But both Ahamed and Deepak put that at the back of their mind and came back strongly to seal the first two slots in the second race on Sunday.

It was seven-time national champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing, who was in total command the first four laps before an ‘oil spill’ forced him to slow down. He was not happy as was the team but Ahamed, who was caught in the traffic early, inched his way up slowly and steadily to take the flag.

“It was tough but made easy as Jagan had some engine issue,” said Ahamed.

Jagan, on the other hand, managed to sign off on a winning note finishing on top in the Pro-Stock 165cc second race.

The red flags came up time and again but the experienced star concentrated hard this time around to emerge a clear winner.

The results (provisional): National Championship – Pro-Stock 301-400cc: Race 2, 12 laps: 1. K.Y Ahamed (TVS Racing) 13:57.299 secs; 2. Deepak Ravi Kumar (TVS Racing) 13:57.735; 3. Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) 14:24.204. Race 1 (10 laps, revised, held on Saturday): 1. Satyanarayana 11:58.709; 2. Karthik Mateti (Gusto Racing) 12:02.200; 3. Asfak Ahamed (Team Speedup Racing) 12:11.783.

Pro-Stock 165cc: Race 2, 3 laps: 1. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) 03:43.700; 2. Sarath Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing) 03:47.127; 3. Deepak 03:50.403.

Stock 165cc Novice: Race 2, 10 laps: 1. Annish Samson (Speed Up Racing; 2. Y. Manoj (Pvt); 3. S. Vijay 13:31.639.

Girls (8 laps): 1. Ann Jennifer (Sparks Racing) 2. Ryhana Bee (Sparks Racing); 3. Nivetha Jessica (Pvt).

One-Make Championship – TVS Open (RTR 310) Race 2 (10 laps): 1. Aravind Ganesh; 2. Vysakh Soban; 3. S. Sivanesan.

Novice (RTR 200) Race 2 (10 laps): 1. Sanjay Kumar; 2. Annish Samson; 3. Veera Ashwin Lal.

Idemitsu Honda Talent Cup (Novice, CBR 150) Race 2 (10 laps): 1. Lal Nunsanga; 2. Varoon; 3. T. Charan.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 14, 2021 4:03:26 PM |

Next Story