Pakistan team in Nehru tournament

A team from Pakistan will be a major attraction in the ONGC 49th Nehru hockey tournament to be played at the Shivaji Stadium here from November 14 to 25.

The tournament will also feature a team from Bangladesh in the quarterfinal league. The event will start with a qualifying phase featuring the Beighton Cup champion Indian Oil, Punjab and Sind Bank, South Central Railway and Army XI among others.

Two teams from the qualifying phase will join six other direct entrants into the quarterfinal league.

The teams will compete in two groups and the top two teams from each group will make the semifinals.

ONGC XI, Punjab National Bank XI, Air India, Bharat Petroleum, Bangladesh XI and Waseem Hockey Club, Pakistan, will be the teams figuring directly in the quarterfinal league.

Doordarshan is scheduled to telecast the semifinals on November 24 and the final to be played under floodlights on November 25, according to a release from the secretary of the Nehru Hockey Society, Kukoo Walia.

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 5, 2020 4:53:53 AM |

Next Story