NZ name women's hockey team for London

New Zealand has named only four players with Olympic experience in a new-look women’s hockey team for the London Games.

Co-captains Kayla Sharland and Emily Naylor will both be competing at their third Olympics while Krystal Forgesson and Gemma Flynn will be making their second appearances.

Teams are allowed only one goalkeeper and Bianca Russell, who missed the cut for the 2008 Beijing Olympics and 2012 Commonwealth Games, has finally won that role.

Coach Mark Hager said “We have selected a well-rounded team that is versatile, quick and has players with a high work ethic.”

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 30, 2020 10:07:33 AM |

Next Story