Hockey India league Hockey

Delhi Waveriders crowned champion

On a day of indissoluble rivalries tie-breakers came in to determine the results as Delhi Waveriders beat Punjab Warriors 6-4 in the final via shootouts in the second edition of the Hero Hockey India league.

Earlier, Ranchi Rhinos won the third place downing Uttar Pradesh Wizards 4-3 via tie-breaker at the Morabadi Astroturf Stadium.

In the see-saw final both teams enjoyed their sessions of dominance to see the regulation time ending 3-3. Mark Knowles, Shivendra Singh and Affan Yousuf scored for Warriors while Waveriders got them through Lloyd Norris Jones, Sardar Singh and Yuvraj Walmiki.

In the shootout only Robert Hammond scored for the Warriors as Simon Orchard, Jamie Dwyer and Satbir Singh were off the mark.

For Waveriders Matt Gohdes, Simon Child and Steven Edwards found the target while Rajpal Singh hit his attempt wide.

Early goal

Warriors started from where they left off in the successful semifinal outing against Ranchi Rhinos. Before the Delhi-based side could settle down the Warriors went ahead with Australian Mark Knowles finishing off an Affan Yousuf pass in the second minute.

The second quarter saw Waveriders strike back through two quick goals. With the break approaching Waveriders launched a quick counter initiated by left-winger Akashdeep Singh. He released Lloyd Norris Jones in the attacking-third with a nice through-pass. The South African forward finished with an excellent backhand hit to draw level in the 33rd?minute.

Waveriders pressed on and won a penalty-corner just near the half time. Rupinder Pal Singh’s drag-flick went off a Warrior defender and reached an unmarked Sardar Singh who slotted home.

Warriors regrouped after the long interval and found the equaliser in the 45th?when Shivendra Singh, deflected a cross from Gurmail Singh.

And three minutes later the Punjab team was in the lead when Yousuf came in to finish another well-orchestrated attack from the right. Waveriders though refused to give in and found the leveller.

Australian Matt Gohdes pounced on a feeble clearance from Warriors defender Gurinder Singh and released the unmarked Yuvraj Walmiki inside the semicircle to slot home.

The results: Final: Delhi Waveriders 6 (3) (Lloyd Norris Jones 33, Sardar Singh 35, Yuvraj Walmiki 51) bt Punjab Warriors 4 (3) (Mark Knowles 2, Shivendra Singh 45, Affan Yousuf 48) in tie-breaker.

Third place play-off: Ranchi Rhinos 4 (1) (Manpreet Singh 31) bt Uttar Pradesh Wizards 3 (1) (V.R. Raghunath 16) in tie-breaker.

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 18, 2020 2:19:15 PM |

Next Story