Hockey India announces selection committee

Hockey India (HI) on Wednesday announced a new five-member selection committee, including two women, to pick various National teams for men and women.

Olympian Col. Balbir Singh, a 1966 Bangkok Asian Games gold medallist, Olympian B.P. Govinda, a member of the 1975 World Cup-winning side and a former captain, Olympian Muneer Sait, Madhu Yadav, a 1982 Asian Games gold medallist and former India captain, and Sita Mehta (nee Gusain), a 2002 Commonwealth Games gold winner and also an ex-India skipper, form the new committee. The term of the selectors will be for one year.

“The previous committee was formed by the ad hoc body, which got dissolved. So there was the need to form a new selection committee,” HI Secretary Mohammad Aslam Khan said.

“Worldwide there is one body for men and women and we have also done the same,” he said.

Besides the above selectors, three government nominees -- Ajitpal Singh, Zafar Iqbal and Rupa Saini -- will be part of the committee.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 15, 2021 9:11:12 AM |

Next Story