Eight qualifiers identified for World Cup

With the conclusion of the European continental championship at Amstelveen on Sunday, nine qualifiers have been identified for the 2010 men’s hockey World Cup to be held in New Delhi from February 28 to March 13.

Apart from host India, the eight who have made the grade are Canada (America), Australia (Oceania), England, Germany, the Netherlands and Spain (Europe), Korea (Asia) and South Africa (Africa).

The three other places are to be filled up by the winner of the three qualifier events to be held between October and November at Lille (France, October 31 to November 8), Invercargill (New Zealand, November 7-15) and Quilmas (Argentina, November 14-22).

Participating teams in the qualifiers:

At Lille: Pakistan, Japan, France, Poland, Russia and Italy (reserve country).

At Invercargill: New Zealand, China, Malaysia, Austria, Scotland and Wales.

At Quilmas: Belgium, Argentina, USA, Czech Republic and Chile.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 30, 2020 8:20:32 PM |

Next Story