HIL’s first team from South India

The HIL is set to grow from the next year. A seventh team would be added to the fray from 2017 with JSW deciding to come on board as owner of the Bengaluru franchise.

This would be the first team from South India to figure in the HIL, taking the sport to a completely new market, one that has huge potential given the traditional support for hockey in Karnataka. It would also be the second Bengaluru sporting franchise for JSW that already owns the city’s I-League team.

While Pune was in the fray to be one of the franchises till last year, Hockey India has now decided not to have two teams from one State in the competition (Dabang Mumbai already being the other team from Maharashtra).

Instead, officials said more franchises could be added from the south, including Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 28, 2020 9:33:50 PM |

Next Story