Golden Boot winners of the FIFA World Cup

An award for the top goal scorers of the FIFA World Cup was instituted in 1982 under the name Golden Shoe.  In 2010, the name was changed to Golden Boot.

1982 (Host: Spain)

Italy's Paolo Rossi.

Italy's Paolo Rossi.   | Photo Credit: The Hindu Archives

Italy’s Paolo Rossi was awarded the first Golden Shoe award. He scored 6 goals in the World Cup. His good work earned Italy the title. Italy defeated West Germany in the final, 3-1. Rossi scored his team's first goal in the final at the 57th minute.

1986 (Mexico)

England’s Gary Linekar.

England’s Gary Linekar.   | Photo Credit: The Hindu Archives

England’s Gary Linekar won the award for his consistent performance scoring 6 goals in the tournament. It was a forgettable World Cup for his team as England were defeated by Argentina in the quarter finals (1-2). Remember the 'Hand of God' goal from Diego Maradona during the match against England? Argentina won the world Cup.

1990 (Italy)

Italian forward Salvatore Schillaci.

Italian forward Salvatore Schillaci.   | Photo Credit: AFP

The Golden Shoe was won by the Italian forward Salvatore Schillaci for scoring 6 goals in the tournament. Argentina defeated Italy in the semifinals in a penalty shoot-out (5-4). Italy beat England in the third place match. West Germany defeated Argentina in the finals.

1994 (United States)

Bulgarian midfielder Hristo Stoichkov.

Bulgarian midfielder Hristo Stoichkov.   | Photo Credit: AFP

Russian forward Oleg Salenko.

Russian forward Oleg Salenko.   | Photo Credit: AFP

This year, the Golden Shoe was shared by two: Russia’s Oleg Salenko and Bulgaria’s Hristo Stoichkov. They both scored 6 goals each in the tournament. Hristo Stoichkov's heroics helped Bulgaria finish fourth in the World Cup. Sweden defeated Bulgaria 4-0 in the third place play-off.  Despite Oleg Salenko's heroics, Russia did not qualify for the knock-out stage. Brazil defeated Italy to lift the World Cup.

1998 (France)

Croatia’s Davor Suker.

Croatia’s Davor Suker.   | Photo Credit: David Cannon

Croatia’s Davor Suker won the golden Shoe in this tournament for scoring 6 goals. Croatia finished third, while France defeated Brazil to lift the World Cup.

2002 (South Korea/Japan)

Brazil’s Ronaldo.

Brazil’s Ronaldo.   | Photo Credit: AP

Brazil’s Ronaldo won the golden Shoe for scoring 8 goals in the tournament. This was indeed Ronaldo's World Cup, as he scored both the goals in the finals in which Brazil defeated Germany to lift the World Cup.

2006 (Germany)

Germany’s Miroslav Klose.

Germany’s Miroslav Klose.   | Photo Credit: Reuters

Germany’s Miroslav Klose scored 5 goals in the tournament and won the Golden Shoe award. Despite his performance, Germany was defeated by Italy in the semifinals. Germany defeated Portugal 3-1 to finish at No.3. Italy went on to lift the cup for the fourth time.

2010 (South Africa)

Germany's Thomas Muller.

Germany's Thomas Muller.   | Photo Credit: AP

This year the Golden Shoe was rechristened as Golden Boot. Germany’s Thomas Muller won the award  but despite his five goals, Germany finished third. The eventual champion, Spain, beat Germany in the semifinals (1-0). Spain defeated Netherlands 1-0 to lift the World Cup.

2014 (Brazil)

Colombia’s James Rodriguez.

Colombia’s James Rodriguez.   | Photo Credit: Reuters

Colombia’s James Rodriguez won the Golden Boot award for scoring 6 goals in the tournament. Colombia was beaten by Brazil in the quarterfinals (2-1). Germany thrashed Brazil 7-1 in the semifinals and went on to lift the World Cup title.

2018 (Russia)

Golden Boot winners of the FIFA World Cup

England's Harry Kane won the Golden Boot award for scoring 6 goals including a hat-trick in the tournament. England was beaten by Croatia in the semifinals and also lost to Belgium in the third-place play-off. France won their second World Cup title by defeating Croatia 4-2 in the finals.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 24, 2021 12:51:35 PM |

Next Story