An eighth world champion will be crowned

Either Spain or the Netherlands will become the eighth nation to be crowned World Cup champions on Sunday as one team will win their first world title.

South Africa 2010 is slowly becoming a tournament of firsts.

It is the first World Cup on Africa soil. The South Africans are the first host nation to bow out in the group stage. And for the first time, a European nation will win a World Cup outside of Europe.

Here a breakdown of the past World Cup champions: Brazil: 5 world titles — 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002 Italy: 4 — 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006 Germany: 3 — 1954, 1974, 1990 Uruguay: 2 — 1930, 1950 Argentina: 2 — 1978, 1986 England: 1 — 1966 France: 1 — 1998.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 31, 2020 1:49:13 PM |

Next Story