World Cup

India enter semi-final

Title favourites India tonight stormed into the semifinals of the World T20 cricket tournament with a sensational six-wicket victory over Australia in their final group match, relying on Virat Kohli’s batting heroics in Mohali on Sunday.

After restricting Australia to 160 for 6, Kohli (82 not out) provided the spark with a superlative display of batting to help India overhaul the target with five balls to spare in a thrilling showdown at the IS Bindra Stadium.

India turned the game on its head in the last four overs with the flamboyant Kohli unleashing a flurry of shots to take the game away from the Australians much to the delight of the capacity home crowd.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (18 not out) hit the winning runs — a four — to the wild celebration at the Indian camp as well among the vociferous crowd.

India, who finished second in Super 10 Group 2, will take on the West Indies in the second semifinals in Mumbai on March 31. New Zealand take on England in the first semifinals on March 30 in New Delhi.

Let down by a poor start, India were left to get 39 in the last three overs but Kohli got the team home to 162 for four in 19.1 overs. His 82 not out came from 51 balls, studded with nine fours and two sixes.

The 18th over bowled by James Faulkner went for 19 runs and that swung the game in the home team’s favour.

The Indians lost openers Shikhar Dhawan (13) and Rohit Sharma (12), who both had not done much in the previous matches, early in the chase.

Dhawan top-edged a rising Josh Hazlewood delivery to short fine-leg before Rohit walked out of the crease to find his stumps disturbed off a slower ball by Shane Watson, leaving India at 37 for two in 5.5 overs.

All hopes were now pinned on premier batsman Kohli, who has made it habit of chasing down targets in testing times.

He started with a delectable flick and a square drive off Hazlewood, raising hopes of another successful chase through him. He stood strong as Suresh Raina (10) succumbed to the short-ball again, bringing in home hero Yuvraj Singh (21) at 49 for three.

The teams are


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah


Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Glen Maxwell, Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Peter Nevill, Adam Zampa, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Josh Hazlewood

Will India continue its dominance over Australia in T20s?

India and Australia face off in a crunch in the World T20 championship match in Mohali on Sunday which will be a virtual quarterfinals.

The winner enters the last four stage alongside New Zealand from Group 2.

In the last three meetings, India proved to be a stronger one in the shortest format of the game.

While India was unsuccessful in the ODI series Down Under in 2016, the Men in Blue won the T20 international series 3-0 and retained the No.1 spot in the rankings.

2016 T20 series in an nutshell

In the first T20I, Virat Kohli scored a marvellous 90 (55b, 9x4, 2x6) before India’s bowlers — somewhat uncharacteristically for this tour — dominated the opponent to set up a 37-run win in the first KFC T20 International. > Read more (January 26, 2016 at Adelaide)

Continuing their dominance, India in the second T20I, after half-centuries from Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma had led the visitors to 184, their spin bowlers throttled Australia midway through the chase. India’s fielding, painful for its captain to behold at the same venue a fortnight ago, was energetic and sharp here, even if a catch was put down. > Read more (January 29, 2016 at Mebourne)

In the third T20I, Suresh Raina produced an innings of great composure to help India to a thrilling last-ball victory over Australia. Raina smashed a 25-ball-49, never once appearing flustered, as India chased down a total of 197 at the SCG to sweep the KFC T20 series 3-0. > Read more (January 31, 2016 at Sydney)

In the Twenty20 Internationals, India has a good record against the Australians. Out of 12 matches, India has won 8 while Australia outwitted India in 4 matches.

India has won both the games played at home. In Australia, out of 6, India has won 4 while Australia 2.

At neutral venues, India and Australia have won two each.

Australia has dominated India in the ODIs, winning 80 out of 123 matches, while India emerge victorious in 41.

A rewind of key T20 matches

India and Australia clashed in the inaugural World T20 championship in 2007 in the semifinals. India won the match through some excellent all-round performance. India clinched the title. > Read more (September 22, 2007 at Durban)

However, Australia defeated India in the 2010 World T20 championship match. Australia went on to the finals but was eventually defeated by England. > Read more (May 7, 2010 at Bridgetown)

In 2012, Australia thrashed India in the World T20 championships group match. Australia's title dreams were cut short by the West Indies who won the title. > Read more (September 28, 2012 at Colombo)

In 2014, India thrashed Australia by 73 runs and Dhoni's men were beaten by Sri Lanka in the finals. > Read more (March 30, 2014 at Dhaka)

Head to head in World T20 championships: 2-2.

List of T20 matches won by Australia:

> Aussies bring India crashing to earth (February 1, 2008 at Melbourne)

> Merciless Australia pounds India into submission (May 7, 2010 at Bridgetown)

> Matthew Wade's blitz takes the game away from India (February 1, 2012 at Sydney)

> Watson, Warner wallop India into submission (September 28, 2012 at Colombo)

List of T20 matches won by India:

> It’s an India-Pakistan final (September 22, 2007 at Durban)

> India asserts dominance in the Twenty20 version > (October 20, 2007 at Mumbai)

> Team India finally on top down under (February 3, 2012 at Melbourne)

> India rides on Yuvraj knock (October 10, 2013 at Rajkot)

> Yuvraj, Ashwin script India’s thumping win (March 30, 2014 at Dhaka)

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 24, 2021 5:38:53 PM |

Next Story