World Cup

All you need to know about the T20 World Cup

The top teams in speed cricket are set to clash in the ovals across India from March 8 to April 3 for the title of world T20 champions. Hosts India will be hitting the field after their lacklustre performance in South Africa and a gruelling outing in Australia. The 2016 ICC World Twenty20 will be the sixth edition of the tournament. Here is a look at the previous editions of the championship:

Twenty20 World Cup

The 2016 ICC World Twenty20 will be the sixth ICC World Twenty20 tournament and is scheduled to be held in India from March 8 to April 3, 2016. The ICC, after its first meeting in Dubai on January 28, 2015, awarded India the rights to host the World Twenty20 championship in 2016. Sri Lanka are the defending champions.

Who are the previous winners?

ICC introduced the championship in 2007. India became the first champion followed by Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012) and Sri Lanka (2014)

>The story so far
2007On September 24, 2007, India became the first Twenty20 champions by defeating its arch-rivals Pakistan in the finals at Wanderers, Johannesburg by 5 runs. Team India was led by M.S. Dhoni. This championship became memorable when Yuvraj Singh hit six sixes in an over off the bowling of England's Stuart Broad.
2009On June 21, 2009, Pakistan lifted the T20 title by defeating Sri Lanka at Lords. Shahid Afridi impressed with his leg-spin and then produced an effort (54 not out off 40 balls) of substance in the finals.
2010On May 16, 2010, England lifted its first ICC trophy by defeating its arch-rivals Australia in the finals at Bridgetown.
2012On October 7, 2012, West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the finals at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. It was a major ICC title for West Indies after a long hiatus.
2014On April 6, 2014, Sri Lanka defeated India in the finals to lift the title in Dhaka. It was indeed a fitting farewell for Sangakkara and Jayawardene as it cantered to a six-wicket win.


>All teams fancy their chances

The shortest version presents a curious challenge for the men involved. There has been little talk of favourites.

>England succumbs to Yuvraj

Yuvraj hits six sixes in an over. England did a good job of chasing, but still found itself 18 runs short.

>Spirited India must continue to dare

Dhoni, a natural leader, has been able to coax fine performances from his players.

>India wins World Twenty20 thriller

Misbah’s heroics bring Pakistan within six runs of victory in inaugural ICC championship.


>Bravo stars for West Indies

Dwayne Bravo played a match-winning knock that made wonderful viewing in a very classical sense.

>Pak shows South Africa the door

The mercurial Shahid Afridi led the way, showing his skills with bat and ball in the shortest format.

>Clash of the sub-continental titans

In a format designed for the booming blows, two sides with incisive and varied attacks will face in the finals.

>Afridi inspires Pak to victory

Sri Lankans fail to deliver when it mattered most; Kumar Sangakkara’s gritty effort goes in vain.


>Raina shines in India win

With its total soaring to 186 for five, India held all the aces when South Africa pursued on a sluggish surface.

>England saunters into the final

After openers gave a blazing start, Pietersen waded into the Sri Lankan attack with a 26-ball 42.

>Hussey puts Australia in final

Hussey powered Australia to a sensational three-wicket win over Pakistan in the second semifinal.

>Finally it is England

England hadn’t a single World Cup victory; trips to the final in 1979, 1987 and 1992 was the closest it came.


>Kohli steers India to a crucial win

India turned on the heat against its arch-rival and declared ownership rights.

>ka just a step away from glory

Sri Lanka are through to their second consecutive World T20 final by defeating Pakistan.

>West Indies storms into final

Gayle & Co. bat with gay abandon to post a huge score; Australia caves in without a fight.

>It’s Calypso time in Colombo

West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the ICC World Twenty20 final.


>India makes it a no-contest, begins in style

After the spinners restrict Pakistan, batsmen ensure victory with nine balls to spare.

>Sri Lanka makes the final by D-L method

Rain ends contest with West Indies, chasing 161, floundering on 80 for four in 13.5 overs

>Kohli blitz powers India into final

Ashwin, repays captain’s faith in him; du Plessis, Duminy bat well for South Africa

>Sri Lanka finally gets the monkey off its back

Sangakkara serves his country well one last time in the game’s shortest format

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 27, 2022 9:57:00 AM |

Next Story