West Indies recalls Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard

Kieron Pollard. File

Kieron Pollard. File   | Photo Credit: K.R. Deepak

Board announces squad for first two T20Is; Bramble only new face.

The veteran duo of Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard were on Tuesday recalled to a 14-member West Indies squad for the first two games of the three-match T20 International series against India in Florida in the United States.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Anthony Bramble is the only uncapped player in the squad selected for the T20Is to be played on August 3 and 4 at the Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida.

The panel could make changes for the third T20I on August 6 at the Guyana National Stadium, the West Indies Cricket Board said.

The squad, to be led by Carlos Brathwaite, also includes allrounder Andre Russell subject to passing a fitness assessment.

Russell injured

Russell had made an early exit from the World Cup to undergo an operation on his troublesome left knee.

Interim selection panel chairman Robert Haynes said veteran opener Chris Gayle had notified that he was unavailable for the series due to commitments in Canada. This has given John Campbell an opportunity.

Left-handed opener Campbell and left-arm spinner Khary Pierre have also been included alongside a number of regulars, as the panel seeks to explore options with the ICC T20 World Cup next year in Australia.

Haynes said he expected the T20I series to be a keenly contested one.

India plays three ODIs and two Tests against the West Indies after the T20Is.

The squad (for first two T20Is): Carlos Brathwaite (Capt.), Sunil Narine, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble (wk), John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer and Evin Lewis.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 19, 2020 7:38:51 AM |

Next Story