Districts in last eight


Left-arm spinner D.T. Chandrasekar’s five for 45 was instrumental in TNCA Districts XI making it to the quarterfinals of the Kalpathi AGS all-India Buchi Babu tournament here on Tuesday.

Pursuing 392 in its Group A duel against Districts XI, Haryana was dismissed for 179 on day two. Nitin Saini top-scored with 81 (134b, 9x4, 2x6).

A fighting, unbeaten eighth-wicket partnership between No. 8 Ashish Reddy (105 not out, 134b, 11x4, 4x6) and No. 9 Mehdi Hasan (74 not out, 92b, 9x4, 2x6) gave Hyderabad, chasing 403, a three-wicket win over Mumbai. Left-arm spinner Harmeet Singh’s five for 121 proved futile.

Hyderabad and Gujarat qualified from Group B with a round remaining, while Mumbai and TNCA XI were eliminated.

Despite K.H. Gopinath’s 103 (127b, 12x4, 1x6), TNCA XI lost to Gujarat by 70 runs.

With leg-spinner Tukuna Sahoo claiming seven for 60, Odisha outplayed Baroda by 222 runs in a Group C match. Mrunal Devdhar (67, 134b, 5x4) put up the lone resistance.

In Group D, TNCA President’s XI snatched a 13-run victory over Bengal with off-spinner M. Prabhu scalping five. For Bengal, Rohan Banerjee made 117 (259b, 10x4, 1x5, 1x6), while Sudip Chatterjee contributed 81 (105b, 12x4).

In another match, Gokul Sharma (138, 168b, 20x4), Rishav Das (84, 196b, 14x4, 2x6) and Sib Shankar Roy (94 not out, 101b, 11x4, 1x6) enabled Assam defeat Andhra by six wickets.

The scores (second round, day two): Group A: TNCA Districts XI 391 in 97.3 overs bt Haryana 179 in 52.4 overs (Nitin Saini 81, D. T. Chandrasekar five for 45). Points: TNCA Districts XI 4, Haryana 0.

Group B: Mumbai 402 in 100 overs lost to Hyderabad 404 for seven in 91 overs (Ashish Reddy 105 n.o., Mehdi Hasan 74 n.o., Tanmay Agarwal 62, Akshath Reddy 41, Harmeet five for 121). Hyderabad 4, Mumbai 0.

Gujarat 381 in 99.2 overs bt TNCA XI 311 in 91 overs (K.H. Gopinath 103, V. Maaruthi Raghav 46). Gujarat 4, TNCA XI 0.

Group C: Odisha 418 in 97.1 overs bt Baroda 196 in 82.5 overs (Mrunal Devdhar 67, Tukuna Sahoo seven for 60). Odisha 4, Baroda 0.

Group D: TNCA President’s XI 391 for nine in 100 overs bt Bengal 378 in 99 overs (Rohan Banerjee 117, Sudip Chatterjee 81, Srivats Goswami 57 n.o., M. Prabhu five for 161). TNCA President’s XI 4, Bengal 0.

Andhra 365 in 100 overs lost to Assam 369 for four in 98.2 overs (Rishav Das 84, Gokul Sharma 138, Sib Shankar Roy 94 n.o.). Assam 4, Andhra 0.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Cricket
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 23, 2020 2:58:07 AM |

Next Story