A guide to the World T20 semi-finals

Now that the semi-final line-up has been settled, the big question now is who will make it to the final on April 3 at Kolkata.

New Zealand, in its present form, is certainly a contender for the title. But the three consecutive victories from India definitely give the other teams some food for thought. Here is the low-down on the upcoming semi-final matches:

India vs West Indies

The scintillating knock Virat Kohli played against Australia should have sent a strong message to West Indies. The opening pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma will have to give India a strong start, and Suresh Raina has to fire-up at this crucial juncture. However, if West Indies has to win the semifinal, they have to cross the Virat Kohli barrier. Even then, India has power hitters like Yuvraj Singh and M.S. Dhoni to follow.

India will have to prevent Chris Gayle carnage very early in the innings. West Indies do have a very strong batting line-up with Marlon Samuels, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy. With Ramdin and Charles to chip in, West Indies might pose one or two questions to the Indian bowling.

Indian bowling unit is well organised with Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashwin and Jadeja doing reasonably well. Nehra and Bumrah are exceptional at the beginning while Ashwin and Jadeja with Yuvraj and Raina as back-up are tightening the screws in the middle overs.

New Zealand vs England

New Zealand may be on a roll, but it should be wary of the strong English batting. If Joe Root, Jos Butler and Eoin Morgan score, then England might pose a big challenge for the Kiwis. New Zealand might have to lean on its spinners, Santner and Sodhi, who have been very consistent.

England's David Willey and Moeen Ali have also bowled considerably well in the group stages. If England takes the wickets of Martin Guptill and Williamson early, then they have a match on their hands with the New Zealand middle-order batsmen not in very good form.

Considering performances in the group matches alone, all bets will be on an India-New Zealand finals at Kolkata.

New Zealand is the only team from the four not to have won the World Twenty20 title. India has >won the title in 2007 , >England in 2010 and >West Indies in 2012.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 24, 2021 9:24:56 AM |

Next Story