Tarak recommended for Drona

Tarak Sinha.

Tarak Sinha.  

Lobo, Kuttappa, Jeevan, Vijay and Srinivas also in the list

Veteran cricket coach Tarak Sinha was finally recognised for his contribution to the game with his name being recommended for the Dronacharya Award.

Sinha was among the six names recommended by the award committee headed by Justice (Retd) Mukul Mudgal. Among his prominent students were Raman Lamba, Manoj Prabhakar and Ashish Nehra. Sinha was also the chief coach of the national women’s cricket team for a while.

Among the others recommended for the award were Clarence Lobo (hockey), C.A. Kuttappa (boxing) — both members of the coaching staff with the respective National teams — Jeevan Sharma (judo) and Vijay Sharma (weightlifting).

With no clear decision between Srinivas Rao and Sandeep Gupta — both table tennis coaches — the committee has recommended the former as a sixth name for the Dronacharya at the Sports Ministry’s discretion.

For the Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement, the committee has recommended Bharat Chetri (hockey), Satyadev (archery) and Dadu Chougule (wrestling). Bobby Aloysius has been recommended as the fourth name.

The recommendations:

Dronacharya: Tarak Sinha (cricket), Clarence Lobo (hockey), Vijay Sharma (weightlifting), Jeevan Sharma (judo), C.A. Kuttappa (boxing), and Srinivas Rao (table tennis).

Dhyan Chand: Bharat Chetri (hockey), Satyadev (archery), Dadu Chougule (wrestling), and Bobby Aloysius (athletics).

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 8, 2020 4:15:32 PM |

Next Story