Live scores | India vs Sri Lanka first T20I: India beat Sri Lanka by 93 runs

Indian opener KL Rahul plays a shot during the first Twenty20 international match against Sri Lanka in Cuttack on Wednesday.   | Photo Credit: K.R. Deepak

Sri Lankan captain Thisara Perera won the toss and elected to bowl in the first Twenty20 International match against India in Cuttack on Wednesday.

Left-arm seamer Vishwa Fernando will make his T20I debut for Sri Lanka.

For India, KL Rahul replaces Shikhar Dhawan while Jaydev Unadkat comes in place of Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The beginning of the T20I series against Sri Lanka signals the end of India’s home comfort. This is the last opportunity for India to test its bench strength ahead of a long haul of overseas assignments, starting with the tour of South Africa next month.

Having secured the Test and one-day series, India will be keen to give exposure to youngsters, who have shone in the Indian Premier League, in the three-match T20I series starting at the Barabati Stadium.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 25, 2021 10:56:04 PM |

Next Story