Pawar not to seek re-election as MCA chief

Published - July 05, 2011 08:11 pm IST - Mumbai

ICC chief Sharad Pawar has decided not to seek re—election as the president of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) for a sixth term.

At a meeting with his group of supporters held at the MCA’s Bandra—Kurla Complex, the Union Agriculture Minister declared his intention not to seek re—election, according to sources.

“He confirmed at the meeting he’s not contesting,” the sources told PTI.

The filing of nominations for the July 15 MCA elections ends on July 8.

The decision by Pawar seems to have left the field open for former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar to become the first cricketer to don the mantle after nearly two decades during which time politicians have been at the helm.

Manohar Joshi succeeded former India stumper Madhav Mantri as MCA’s president in 1992 and was, in turn, succeeded by Pawar in 2001.

Vengsarkar, a former chief selector, is currently one of the two vice presidents of the association and has repeatedly said he would contest for the top post in MCA.

He is likely to be opposed by Union Minister for Rural Development Vilasrao Deshmukh, who is the other vice—president of the association.

Pawar was elected as MCA chief for the first time in 2001 and he completed eight years (four terms) in that post in 2009.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.