Pakistan elects to bat against New Zealand in 3rd ODI


Pakistan stand-in captain Shahid Afridi won the toss and elected to bat in the third one-day international against New Zealand on Sunday.

Afridi leads the side with regular captain Misbah-ul-Haq ruled out for the remaining three matches of the series due to a hamstring injury.

Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal replaced Misbah and plays his first match of the series.

New Zealand continued with its rotation policy ahead of the World Cup in two months, making three changes despite winning the second match to level the series 1-1.

Opening batsman Martin Guptill, allrounder James Neesham and offspinner Natham McCullum replace fast bowler Adam Milne, Daniel Vettori and Dean Brownlie.


Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Corey Anderson, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Sport Cricket
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 26, 2020 4:50:36 PM |

Next Story