Kohli voted ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year

Virat Kholi poses with the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award at the ICC Awards 2012 in Colombo on September 15, 2012.

Virat Kholi poses with the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award at the ICC Awards 2012 in Colombo on September 15, 2012.  


India's Virat Kohli was on Saturday rewarded for his dream run in the last 12 months by being named the ‘ODI Cricketer of the Year’, while Kumar Sangakkara walked away with three honours, including the Cricketer of the Year, at the ICC annual awards function here.

The Sri Lankan veteran was also named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, besides winning the People's Choice Award.

During the period under consideration, the 23-year-old Kohli, played 31 ODIs and compiled 1,733 runs at an outstanding average of 66.65, including eight centuries and six half-centuries. His highest score of 183 came against Pakistan in the Asia Cup on March 18.

The 32-member expert panel preferred Kohli, who beat off competition from his skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sangakkara and Sri Lanka's pace spearhead Lasith Malinga.


“I think I have tried to keep things as simple as possible and it's worked for me on the field. This year has been a learning curve along the way from the seniors in the team. It's been an all-round effort and I'm very happy to have won this award,” Kohli said upon receiving the award.

“It's always nice to be recognised by the ICC and it's a great feeling and it's the first time I've won one of these awards and it feels great,” the Delhi lad added.

In 14 Tests, Sangakkara scored 1,444 runs at an average of 60.16, including five centuries and five half-centuries. In addition, he played 37 ODIs, hitting 1,457 runs at 42.85, with three centuries and nine half-centuries. He has also effected 42 dismissals in the ODIs.

“This is an amazing honour and I've seen the people who have won it before me and the nominees too, to be named alongside them is wonderful,” Sangakkara said. Sangakkara accepted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from ICC President Alan Isaac at a glittering ceremony.

Dhoni at the helm

Kohil and Sangakkara were also included in ICC ODI Team of the Year for 2011-12.

World Cup-winning skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was included in the team for a fifth year in succession, was named the captain of the team, which included seven players from the sub-continent.

Other ICC awards:

T20 International Performance of the Year: Richard Levi (RSA);

Spirit of Cricket Award: Daniel Vettori (NZ);

Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Sunil Narine (WI);

Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dhamasena (SL);

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Stafanie Taylor (WI);

Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Sarah Taylor (Eng);

Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: George Dockrell (Ire).

ICC one-day Team of the Year: Gautam Gambhir, Alastair Cook, Kumar Sangakkara, Virat Kohli, M.S. Dhoni (capt. & wk), Michael Clarke, Shahid Afridi, Morne Morkel, Steven Finn, Lasith Malinga and Saeed Ajmal. 12th man: Shane Watson.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Sport Cricket
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 19, 2020 1:34:20 PM |

Next Story