Kerala u-23 women create history

Kerala women’s team, winner of the BCCI T20 super league title.  

The Kerala under-23 women’s team created history, defeating Maharasthra by five wickets to win the BCCI T20 super league title, at the BKC ground on Wednesday.

This is the first ever title win by a Kerala team in any tournament conducted by BCCI.

In a tense finish, the sixth-wicket pair of S. Sajana (24 not out) and I.V. Drishya (16 not out) added 28 runs, which enabled Kerala to win with one ball to spare. A. Akshaya (37) anchored the innings as Kerala, which needed 115 for a victory, slumped to 50 for four at one stage. Akshaya added 37 for the fifth wicket with Sajana to put the team on road to victory.

Earlier, Maharashtra elected to bat, but steady bowling from Kerala kept the run-rate in check. Opener M.R. Magre laboured to 33 while Kerala effected three run outs to restrict Maharashtra to 114 for four.

The scores:

Maharashtra 114 for four in 20 overs (M.R. Magre 33) lost to Kerala 115 for five in 19.5 overs (A. Akshaya 37).

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 25, 2022 8:30:41 AM |

Next Story