Jaffer, Nayar excel as Mumbai crushes Delhi

WINNING KNOCK: Wasim Jaffer's 94 helped Mumbai pile up a big score against Delhi on Saturday. Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

WINNING KNOCK: Wasim Jaffer's 94 helped Mumbai pile up a big score against Delhi on Saturday. Photo: Rajeev Bhatt  


Delhi's abject surrender gave two-time champion Mumbai a flattering 140-run victory and a place in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Ferozeshah Kotla ground here.

After Mumbai chose to bat and raced away to a formidable 295 for five in 50 overs, Delhi was never in the contest. Once the host tumbled from a promising 40 without loss to 58 for five, only the margin of defeat was of interest.

Openers Wasim Jaffer and Ajinkya Rahane provided a 72-run platform to build on and Mumbai went on to finish with a flourish.

Abhishek Nayar held centre-stage as the last 10 overs produced 110 runs. Mumbai was also aided by some wayward bowling and poor fielding by Delhi.

Jaffer, unlucky to miss a deserving century, cut loose in the second half of his innings.

Out of his 11 boundaries, Jaffer hit four in succession off left-arm spinner Varun Sood. The sesasoned campaigner also hit a six.

Nayar walked in at 173 for three in the 39th over and gave the innings the impetus it needed.

He smashed two sixes and eight boundaries out of the three sixes and 13 boundaries seen in the last 10 overs. His knock came off just 41 deliveries.

If Delhi had reasons to feel pleased about keeping the run-rate in check in the first 30 overs, it was mainly because of Ashish Nehra's disciplined effort (6.5-0-18-0).

However, bowling the 31st over of the innings, Nehra slipped in his delivery stride and took no further part in the match.

When Delhi batted and lost all steam by the 16th over, Jagrit Anand took his time and compiled a half-century. He added 74 runs in 22.2 overs with Yogesh Nagar for the sixth wicket, only to delay the inevitable.

The scores:

Mumbai: Wasim Jaffer lbw b Parvinder Awana 92, Ajinkya Rahane st. Punit Bisht b Varun Sood 42, Sushant Marathe c Parvinder Awana b Sangwan 16, Anup Revandkar c Shikhar Dhawan b Rajat Bhatia 22, Abhishek Nayar (not out) 72, Shoaib Shaikh c sub (Pawan Negi) b Awana 20, Ajit Agarkar (not out) 18; Extras (b-2, lb-5, nb-1, w-5) 13; Total (for five wickets in 50 overs) 295.

Fall of wickets: 1-72, 2-114, 3-172, 4-183, 5-246.

Delhi bowling: Ashish Nehra 6.5-0-18-0, Parvinder Awana 10-0-76-2, Pradeep Sangwan 9-1-56-1, Rajat Bhatia 10-0-46-1, Varun Sood 10-0-56-1, Jagrit Anand 4-0-36-0, Mohit Sharma 0.1-0-0-0.

Delhi: Unmukt Chand c sub. (Gaurav Jathar) b Agarkar 12, Shikhar Dhawan c Revandkar b Waingankar 34, Mohit Sharma c Ankit Chavan b Waingankar 1, Punit Bisht c sub. (Gaurav Jathar) b Revandkar 2, Jagrit Anand c Rahane b Abdulla 51, Rajat Bhatia st. Marathe b Revandkar 0, Yogesh Nagar c sub (Gaurav Jadhav) b Revandkar 30, Varun Sood c Waingankar b Abdulla 13, Pradeep Sangwan c & b Sheikh 4, Parvinder Awana (not out) 0, Ashish Nehra did not bat; Extras (lb-3, w-5) 8; Total (in 45 overs) 155.

Fall of wickets: 1-40, 2-45, 3-49, 4-57, 5-58, 6-132, 7-138 8-150, 9-155.

Mumbai bowling: Agarkar 5-1-14-1, Dhaval Kulkarni 4-0-25-0; Revandkar 10-0-37-3, Kshemal Waingankar 8-3-15-2, Ankit Chavan 6-0-20-0, Iqbal Abdullah 10-0-35-2, Shoaib Shaikh 2-0-6-1.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Delhi Sport Cricket
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 15, 2019 3:02:14 AM |

Next Story