RCB vs CSK | Chennai survives Du Plessis-Maxwell storm to beat Bangalore

RCB named an unchanged squad, while CSK brought in Matheesha Pathirana in place of Sisanda Magala, who is injured

April 17, 2023 07:27 pm | Updated April 18, 2023 07:18 am IST - Bengaluru

Chennai Super Kings players celebrate their win over Royal Challengers Bangalore during the Indian Premier League 2023 match in Bengaluru on April 17, 2023.

Chennai Super Kings players celebrate their win over Royal Challengers Bangalore during the Indian Premier League 2023 match in Bengaluru on April 17, 2023. | Photo Credit: AP

Chennai Super Kings held on for an eight-run win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in a high-scoring IPL match on April 17. in Bengaluru, despite a blistering partnership from Faf du Plessis and Glenn Maxwell.

A game billed as the clash between Indian superstars Virat Kohli and M.S. Dhoni saw 33 sixes hit at Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Devon Conway and Shivam Dube blasted 83 and 52 respectively to help Chennai post a commanding 226-6 batting first.

But Bangalore skipper Du Plessis (62) and Maxwell (76) brought the home crowd alive in a blazing partnership of 126.

The pair tore into the opposition attack, striking 12 sixes between them after losing two early wickets including Kohli for six in the first over.

Dhoni played his part with two high catches to dismiss the dangerous pair, with Maxwell and Du Plessis falling in the space of two overs.

Sri Lankan mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana removed Maxwell after his 36-ball blitz, including eight hits over the boundary, and England spinner Moeen Ali sent back Du Plessis.

Dinesh Karthik attempted to keep up the attack with his 14-ball 28 but Chennai regained control with regular wickets as Bangalore failed to keep up with the asking rate.

With 19 runs needed to win from the final over, Matheesha Pathirana, a fast bowler with a slinging action, kept his calm to give away just 10.

Conway set the tone for the match with his 45-ball knock, laced with six sixes, as he put on big partnerships with Ajinkya Rahane and then Dube.

Rahane smashed 37 before being bowled by Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga but Conway kept up the charge with Dube for company in a partnership of 80 off 37 balls.

Bangalore attempted to pull things back with the wickets of Conway and Dube, who departed after a 27-ball innings.

But Moeen steered the team to the mammoth total with his unbeaten nine-ball 19.


Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad c Parnell b Mohammed Siraj 3 Devon Conway b Patel 83 Ajinkya Rahane b de Silva 37 Shivam Dube c Mohammed Siraj b Parnell 52 Ambati Rayudu c Karthik b Vyshak 14 Moeen Ali not out 19 Ravindra Jadeja c sub (SS Prabhudessai) b Maxwell 10 MS Dhoni not out 1 Extras: (LB-1, NB-2, W-4) 7

Total: (For 6 wickets in 20 overs) 226

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-90, 3-170, 4-178, 5-198, 6-224

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling: Mohammed Siraj 4-0-30-1, Wayne Parnell 4-0-48-1, Vijaykumar Vyshak 4-0-62-1, Glenn Maxwell 2.4-0-28-1, Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva 2-0-21-1, Harshal Patel 3.2-0-36-1.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli b Akash Singh 6 Faf du Plessis c Dhoni b Ali 62 Mahipal Lomror c Gaikwad b Deshpande 0 Glenn Maxwell c Dhoni b Theekshana 76 Shahbaz Ahmed c Gaikwad b Pathirana 12 Dinesh Karthik c Theekshana b Deshpande 28 Suyash Prabhudessai c Jadeja b Pathirana 19 Wayne Parnell c Dube b Deshpande 2 Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva not out 2 Extras: (LB-5, W-6) 11

Total: (For 8 wickets in 20 overs) 218

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-15, 3-141, , 4-159, 5-191, 6-192, 7-197, 8-218

Chennai Super Kings bowling: Akash Singh 3-0-35-1, Tushar Deshpande 4-0-45-3, Maheesh Theekshana 4-0-41-1, Ravindra Jadeja 4-0-37-0, Matheesha Pathirana 4-0-42-2, Moeen Ali 1-0-13-1.

Playing XIs:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Wayne Parnell, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Mohammed Siraj.

Chennai Super Kings: Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wk/c), Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.