IPL 2023: Bowlers’ day out as Royal Challengers defend low total against Super Giants

Chasing 126, the Lucknow outfit loses the plot after leggie Karn claims the wicketsof Pooran and Stoinis; Rahul’s injury hampers the home side.

May 01, 2023 11:59 pm | Updated May 02, 2023 01:43 pm IST - Lucknow

Royal Challengers Bangalore players a wicket during the Indian Premier League 2023 match against Lucknow Super Giants in Lucknow on May 1, 2023.

Royal Challengers Bangalore players a wicket during the Indian Premier League 2023 match against Lucknow Super Giants in Lucknow on May 1, 2023. | Photo Credit: ANI

Lucknow Super Giants imploded again to continue its miserable home record at the Ekana Cricket stadium here on Monday, losing to Royal Challengers Bangalore by 18 runs chasing a modest total of 126 for nine.

Super Giants was hampered by captain K.L. Rahul’s thigh injury which he suffered in the second over of the RCB innings. When Rahul came out to bat, his side needed 24 off eight balls. Poor shot selection and lack of application by the batters hurt Super Giants as they slid to their third consecutive defeat at home.

Mohammed Siraj gave RCB an early breakthrough when he sent back dangerman Kyle Mayers for a duck, miscuing a shot to Anuj Rawat at mid-on. Krunal Pandya, after clattering Siraj for three successive fours, chipped Glenn Maxwell to Virat Kohli at long-off.

Josh Hazlewood, playing his first match of the season, tied Ayush Badoni in knots before forcing him to drive straight to Kohli at cover. Wanindu Hasaranga foxed Deepak Hooda and had him stumped by Dinesh Karthik.

Much depended on Nicholas Pooran but the West Indian holed out to Mahipal Lomor off Karn Sharma to leave Super Giants tottering at 38 for five. Marcus Stoinis and K. Gowtham staged a mini-revival, adding 27 for the sixth wicket, before Karn lured the Australian to his doom. It was all but sealed when Gowtham ran himself out.

Earlier, the Super Giants bowlers thrived on the sluggish wicket. The four spinners delivered 13 out of the 20 overs. Ravi Bishnoi (4-0-21-2) was the stand-out bowler while the other leggie, Amit Mishra (3-0-21-2), and off-spinner Gowtham (2-0-10-1) played the support role well. Though he didn’t pick up any wicket, left-arm spinner Krunal Pandya (4-0-21-0) shuffled his bowlers around and did a good job as captain after Rahul hobbled off the field.

RCB’s openers Kohli (31) and du Plessis (44) struggled with their timing as only 42 came in the PowerPlay. It was tough going for the batters, but the bowlers won the day for the Bengaluru side.

In 160 matches so far, he has taken 172 wickets at an average of 23.75 and an economy rate of 7.34. His best bowling figures are 5/17 in IPL.Amit has been performing well in IPL 2023. He has taken six wickets in six matches at an average of 18.16 and an economy rate of 7.26. His best bowling figures are 2/21.

The top-five wicket-takers in IPL history are: Dwayne Bravo (183 wickets), Yuzvendra Chahal (178 wickets), Mishra, Lasith Malinga (170 wickets) and Piyush Chawla (170 wickets).


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli st Pooran b Ravi Bishnoi 31 Faf du Plessis c Pandya b Mishra 44 Anuj Rawat c Mayers b Gowtham 9 Glenn Maxwell lbw b Ravi Bishnoi 4 Suyash Prabhudessai c Gowtham b Mishra 6 Dinesh Karthik run out (Yash Thakur) 16 Mahipal Lomror lbw b Naveen-ul-Haq 3 Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva not out 8 Karn Sharma c Gowtham b Naveen-ul-Haq 2 Mohammed Siraj c Pooran b Naveen-ul-Haq 0 Josh Hazlewood not out 1 Extras: (W-2) 2

Total: (For 9 wickets in 20 overs) 126

Fall of wickets: 1-62, 2-75, 3-80, 4-90, 5-109, 6-114, 7-117, 8-121, 9-121

Lucknow Super Giants bowling: Krunal Pandya 4-0-21-0, Marcus Stoinis 1-0 -11-0, Naveen-ul-Haq 4-0-30-3, Ravi Bishnoi 4-0-21-2, Amit Mishra 3-0 -21-2, Yash Thakur 2-0-12-0, Krishnappa Gowtham 2-0-10-1.

Lucknow Super Giants: Kyle Mayers c Anuj Rawat b Siraj 0 Ayush Badoni c Kohli b Hazlewood 4 Krunal Pandya c Kohli b Maxwell 14 Deepak Hooda st Karthik b W Hasaranga 1 Marcus Stoinis c Prabhudessai b Karn Sharma 13 Nicholas Pooran c Lomror b Karn Sharma 9 Krishnappa Gowtham run out 23 Ravi Bishnoi run out 5 Amit Mishra c Karthik b Harshal Patel 19 Naveen-ul-Haq c Karthik b Hazlewood 13 KL Rahul not out 0 Extras: (b-1, lb-1, w-3, nb-2) 7

Total: 108 all out in 19.5 overs

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-19, 3-21, 4-27, 5-38, 6-65, 7-66, 8-77, 9-103

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling: Mohammed Siraj 3-0-24-1, Josh Hazlewood 3-0-15-2, Glenn Maxwell 1-0-3-1, Wanindu Hasaranga 4-0-20-1, Karn Sharma 4-0-20-2, Harshal Patel 3.5-0-20-1, Mahipal Lomror 1-0-4-0.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.