IPL 2021 | RCB | Cricket

IPL 2021 | Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore looks to build winning momentum against struggling Rajasthan Royals

A win over RR will virtually put RCB in the play-offs.   | Photo Credit: PTI

Fresh from an impressive 54-run win over Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore will take the field against Rajasthan Royals at Dubai on Wednesday with confidence.

RCB snapped a two-match losing streak in fine fashion on Sunday, stunning a strong MI with authority.

Skipper Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell notched up fifties, before Harshal Patel’s hat-trick sealed the match in RCB’s favour.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal played his part, picking up three crucial wickets.

RR, on the other hand, has lost two straight matches. The most recent setback came on Monday, when the side went down to Sunrisers Hyderabad by seven wickets.

Skipper Sanju Samson has been on fire with the bat, but has lacked support from teammates.

RR has been badly affected by the withdrawal of England star Jos Buttler, who pulled out of the second leg citing bubble fatigue.

Vital for Royals

RR’s two other English match-winners — Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes — are also unavailable.

The next few matches will be vital for RR, as it is stuck on eight points alongside three other mid-table teams.

Some winning momentum will help to break free from the pack and make a bid to qualify for the playoff rounds.

RCB (12 points) is in a more comfortable position, with six wins in 10 matches.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Navdeep Saini, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, Rajat Patidar, Dushmantha Chameera, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Sachin Baby, Wanindu Hasaranga, George Garton, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shahbaz Ahmed, Devdutt Padikkal, Kyle Jamieson, Suyash Prabhudessai, KS Bharat, Tim David, Akash Deep.

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (captain), Liam Livingstone, Evin Lewis, David Miller, Chris Morris, Oshane Thomas, Mustafizur Rahaman, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chetan Sakariya, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Akash Singh, Anuj Rawat, KC Cariappa, Yashashvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube, Shreyas Gopal, Kartik Tyagi, Mayank Markande, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldip Yadav, Mahipal Lomror.

Match Starts at 7:30pm.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 30, 2021 10:01:00 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/ipl-2021-kohlis-rcb-looks-to-build-winning-momentum-against-struggling-rr/article36716865.ece

Next Story