Starc sets up Australia’s win

Rohit Sharma’s rollicking century went in vain as Australia survived a few anxious moments before pulling off a tense four—wicket win over India in a cricket Tri-series ODI match, in Melbourne on Sunday.

After opener Aaron Finch’s confident 96-run knock, Australia were placed comfortably at 216 for two in a chase of 268 but India staged a late comeback by taking three quick wickets.

India dismissed Steve Smith (47), Finch and George Bailey (5) in a gap of 23 balls to raise hopes of a turnaround but Brad Haddin (13) and James Faulkner (9) batted sensibly to deny India a dramatic finish.

The hosts ended at 269 for six in exactly 49 overs with Faulknar dispatching a Buvneshwar Kumar full-toss to boundary ropes for winning runs.

Electing to bat India had posted 267 for eight, built around Sharma’s 138-run knock, his sixth One-day hundred. He blasted nine boundaries and four sixes in 139 balls to score his third century against Australia.

The Mumbaikar put on 126 runs for the fourth wicket with Suresh Raina (51) even as Australian paceman Mitchell Starc produced a fine bowling display to pick 6-43 in his 10 overs.

Australia began their chase in a confident manner with Finch and David Warner (24) putting on 51 for the first wicket. Umesh Yadav broke the stand by dismissing Warner but seasoned Shane Watson lent solidity to the Australian innings with his 41.

Yadav denied Finch his sixth ODI hundred by having the batsman caught behind but at that time Australia were only 49 runs away from the victory target.

Finch controlled his 127-ball innings well, hitting five shots to the fence and two over the ropes.

Smith (47), Watson and Glenn Maxwell (20) did not score big but their contributions proved crucial for Australia, who had also beaten England in the tri-series opener on Friday.

India will take on England in their second match on Tuesday and again square off against Australia on January 26.


India: R. Sharma c Maxwell b Starc 138 (139b, 9x4, 4x6), S. Dhawan c Finch b Starc 2 (4b), A. Rahane c Haddin b Sandhu 12 (22b, 2x4), V. Kohli c Bailey b Faulkner 9 (16b), S. Raina c Maxwell b Starc 51 (63b 6x4), M. Dhoni b Starc 19 (31b, 2x4), A. Patel lbw Starc 0 (2b), R. Ashwin n.o. 14 (20b), B. Kumar b Starc 0 (1b), M. Shami n.o. 2 (3b), Extras (b-1, lb-3, w-15, nb-1): 20; Total (for eight wickets in 50 overs): 267.

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Dhawan), 2-33 (Rahane), 3-59 (Kohli), 4-185 (Raina), 5-237 (Dhoni), 6-237 (Axar), 7-262 (Rohit), 8-262 (Bhuvneshwar)

Australia bowling: Starc 10-2-43-6, Cummins 10-0-52-0, Sandhu 10-0-58-1, Faulkner 10-0-63-1, Watson 8-0-33-0, Maxwell 2-0-14-0

Australia: A. Finch c Dhoni b Umesh 96 (127b, 5x4, 2x6), D. Warner c Raina b Umesh 24 (22b, 3x4), S. Watson b Axar 41 (39b, 5x4, 1x6), S. Smith c Ashwin b Shami 47 (52b, 6x4), G. Maxwell c&b Bhuvneshwar 20 (23b, 1x4, 1x6), G. Bailey c Dhoni b Ashwin 5 (11b), B. Haddin n.o. 13 (11b, 1x4), J. Faulkner n.o. 9 (9b, 2x4), Extras (lb-3, w-11): 14; Total (for six wickets in 49 overs): 269.

Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Warner), 2-115 (Watson), 3-216 (Smith), 4-219 (Finch), 5-230 (Bailey), 6-248 (Maxwell).

India bowling: Bhuvneshwar 9.5-0-44-1, Umesh 10-1-55-2, Shami 8.1-0-44-1, Axar 10-0-45-1, Ashwin 9-0-54-1, Raina 2-0-24-0

Toss: India.

Man-of-the-Match: Starc.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 17, 2021 8:44:27 AM |

Next Story