Former India captain Sourav Ganguly takes over as 39th BCCI president

Mahim Verma of Uttarakhand became the new vice-president.

Updated - December 03, 2021 07:02 am IST

Published - October 23, 2019 11:28 am IST - Mumbai

Saurav Ganguly arrives for the BCCI general body meeting on Wednesday.

Saurav Ganguly arrives for the BCCI general body meeting on Wednesday.

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly on Wednesday took over as the BCCI’s 39th president, becoming the biggest name to head the world’s richest cricket board.

Ganguly was officially entrusted with the task of heading Indian cricket for the next nine months at the BCCI’s General Body meeting here, ending a tumultuous 33-month reign of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA).

“It’s official - @SGanguly99 formally elected as the President of BCCI,” the BCCI posted on its Twitter page.

Ganguly’s appointment was finalised last week.

In the meeting that was also a reunion of sorts for some of the familiar faces associated with the board before the CoA’s institution, Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s son Jay Shah was made the secretary.

During his tenure, Ganguly will look to coordinate with old guard such as former President N. Srinivasan and ex-Secretary Niranjan Shah, whose children are now part of the BCCI.

Mahim Verma of Uttarakhand became the new vice-president.

Former BCCI president and current junior finance minster Anurag Thakur’s younger brother Arun Dhumal became the treasurer while Kerala’s Jayesh George took the joint secretary’s position.

Ganguly, who took over as India captain during one of its darkest hours following the 2000 match-fixing scandal, will need to demit office by the end of July next year as per the provisions of new constitution, which makes ‘Cooling Off’ period mandatory after six years in office.

One of the most elegant left-handers to have represented India, Ganguly is expected to make use of his experience gained as the secretary and later president of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB).

He has set a few goals and the primary ones are restructuring of first-class cricket as well as getting the administration back in shape along with getting India’s position of reverence back in the corridors of International Cricket Council (ICC).

With the conflict of interest rules in place, Ganguly will face the challenge of having quality cricketers on board as far as the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) and national selection committees are concerned.

His take on veteran Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s international future, Day/Night Test cricket, permanent Test centres will also be dissected.

His tenure begins at a time when the International Cricket Council has left India out of its newly-formed working group, which might affect the country’s share in the ICC revenue.

The group has been formed to figure out a new governance structure for the world body.

The following is the list of BCCI Presidents till date:

1 RE Grant Govan (1928-1933)

2 Sir Sikandar Hayat Khan (1933-1935)

3 Nawab Hamidullah Khan (1935-1937)

4 Maharaja KS Digvijaysinhji (1937-1938)

5 P Subbarayan (1938-1946)

6 Anthony S D’Mello (1946-1951)

7 JC Mukherji (1951-1954)

8 Maharajkumar of Vizianagram (1954-1956)

9 Sardar SS Majithia (1956-1958)

10 RK Patel (1958-1960)

11 MA Chidambaram (1960-1963)

12 Maharaja F Gaekwad (1963-1966)

13 ZR Irani (1966-1969)

14 AN Ghose (1969-1972)

15 PM Rungta (1972-1975)

16 Ramprakash Mehra (1975-1977)

17 M Chinnaswamy (1977-1980)

18 SK Wankhede (1980-1982)

19 NKP Salve (1982-1985)

20 S Sriraman (1985-1988)

21 BN Dutt (1988-1990)

22 Madhavrao Scindia (1990-1993)

23 IS Bindra (1993-1996)

24 Raj Singh Dungarpur (1996-1999)

25 AC Muthiah (1999-2001)

26 Jagmohan Dalmiya (2001-2004)

27 Ranbir Singh Mahendra (2004-2005)

28 Sharad Pawar (2005-2008)

29 Shashank Manohar (2008-2011)

30 N Srinivasan (2011-2013)

31 Jagmohan Dalmiya (Interim) (2013-2013)

32 N Srinivasan (2013-2014)

33 Shivlal Yadav (Interim) (2014-2014)

34 Sunil Gavaskar (IPL Interim) (2014-2014)

35 Jagmohan Dalmiya (Died in office) (2015-2015)

36 Shashank Manohar (Resigned) (2015-2016)

37 Anurag Thakur (Sacked) (2016-2017)

38 CK Khanna (Interim) (2017-2019)

39 Sourav Ganguly (2019-Present).

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.