Deodhar Trophy: India-C canters to a thumping win

Shubman Gill showcased a repertoire of strokes in his century knock

Shubman Gill showcased a repertoire of strokes in his century knock  

After Shubman and Mayank’s scintillating tons, Jalaj rips through India-A with seven wickets

Captain Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal’s splendid centuries, backed by Jalaj Saxena’s superb seven-wicket haul, spurred India-C to a record 232–run win over India-A in the Deodhar Trophy at the JSCA Stadium here on Friday.

Electing to bat, Shubman collaborated with Mayank to forge a massive opening stand of 226 and lay a solid foundation for India-C to post 366 for three, the highest-ever total in the tournament. Jalaj’s wonderful spell of spin bowling bundled out India-A for 134 inside 30 overs.

It was the end of the journey for India-A, which suffered its second consecutive defeat. India-B and India-C, with one victory apiece, face off in the inconsequential affair on Saturday before the final on Monday.

Shubman and India Test opener Mayank saw off the initial phase without taking any risk. They rotated the strike and sent the loose deliveries to the ropes. Later, they enjoyed playing strokes on the flatter pitch.

Mayank scored through cuts and glances before flexing his muscles. The Karnataka batsman, who was dropped on 92 off Hanuma Vihari, reached his 13th List-A century in the 34th over. Mayank’s 111-ball 120, containing 15 fours and a six off Ashwin, ended when he scooped Vihari to Bhargav Merai at long on.

Sublime knock

The elegant Shubman enthralled with his magnificent shots as he switched gear effortlessly. The 20-year-old hammered 10 fours and six sixes on the onside in his sixth hundred, a 142-ball 143. He departed playing a big hit off Ashwin in the 47th over.

India-A paid the price for its wayward bowling as Suryakumar Yadav’s unbeaten 72 off 29 balls helped India-C overhaul the 362 for five, the previous best total by West Zone against East Zone at Cuttack in 2008-09.

India-A faltered early to be 17 for three, including two scalped by Ishan Porel, in the fourth over. Devdutt Padikkal (31) and Merai (30) offered some resistance before Jalaj came up with a dream performance of seven for 41.

The scores: India-C: Mayank Agarwal c Merai b Vihari 120, Shubman Gill c Vishnu b Ashwin 143, Priyam Garg c Vishnu b Bishnoi 16, Suryakumar Yadav (not out) 72, Dinesh Karthik (not out) 5; Extras (lb-2, w-8): 10; Total (for three wkts. in 50 overs): 366.

Fall of wickets: 1-226, 2-247, 3-305.

India-A bowling: Unadkat 10-0-82-0, Siddarth Kaul 8-0-66-0, Prithvi Raj 7-0-48-0, Bishnoi 8-0-63-1, Ashwin 10-0-57-1, Vihari 7-0-48-1.

India-A: Vishnu Vinod lbw b Kulkarni 12, Devdutt Padikkal c Garg b Saxena 31, Abhishek Raman c Markande b Porel 2, Hanuma Vihari c Karthik b Porel 0, Bhargav Merai b Saxena 30, Ishan Kishan 25, R. Ashwin 1, Jaydev Unadkat lbw b Saxena 2, Ravi Bishnoi c Garg b Saxena 13, Siddarth Kaul c & b Saxena 17, Prithvi Raj (not out) 0; Extras (lb-1) 1; Total (in 29.5 overs): 134.

Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-15, 3-17, 4-74, 5-76, 6-84, 7-90, 8-105, 9-130.

India-C bowling: Kulkarni 5-0-29-1, Porel 5-1-12-2, Axar 6-0-27-0, Saxena 9.5-0-41-7, Markande 4-0-24-0.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 25, 2020 6:48:26 AM |

Next Story