C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for Durrani

Flamboyant all-rounder Salim Durrani, a popular player for the Indian team in the 1960s and 70s, with many firsts to his credit, has been nominated for the BCCI’s Col C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, comprising a trophy and Rs. 15 lakh cheque. The Kabul-born, Mumbai-based cricketer will be presented with the award on May 31, 2011 at the Board's annual awards ceremony here.

Reputed for ability to hit a ‘six on demand’ from fans, Durrani became a crowd-puller for his entertaining approach to cricket. He played for India in 29 Tests, batting left-handed and scoring 1,202 runs at an average of 25. He also picked up 75 wickets with his left-arm spin, which included three five-wicket hauls, according to a media release from BCCI on Friday.

The BCCI statement says: Born in 1934 in Kabul, Afghanistan, Durrani was one of chief architects of India’s first Test series triumph over England, in 1961-62. India won the last two Tests of the five-match series, after drawing the first three. He had match figures of 8-113 in the fourth Test at Kolkata, then 10-177 in the fifth at Chennai.

A few months later, Durrani was one of the heroes of a dismal tour of the Caribbean, with his belligerent 104 in a Test at Port of Spain. It was at the same venue that he helped shape a historic Test win (India’s first in the West Indies) on the next tour in 1970-71.

Brought on to bowl at a crucial stage of the second Test, the all-rounder dismissed destructive batsmen Sir Garfield Sobers and Clive Lloyd in quick succession.

India won by seven wickets to maintain 1-0 lead in the series. Two seasons later, Durrani’s consistency with the bat, especially in crunch situations, enabled India to achieve another Test series win over England at home. In domestic cricket, he starred with bat and ball for Central Zone, taking the zone to its first-ever Duleep Trophy title in 1971-72.

C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award winners list:

1994 – Lala Amarnath 1995 – Syed Mushtaq Ali 1996 – Capt. Vijay Hazare 1997 – K.N. Prabhu 1998 – Polly Umrigar 1999 – Col. Hemachandra Adhikari 2000 – Subhash Gupte 2001 – Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi 2002 – Bhausaheb Nimbalkar 2003 – Chandrakant Borde 2004 – B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, S. Venkataraghvan 2007 – Nariman Contractor 2008 – Gundappa Viswanath 2009 – Mohinder Amarnath 2011- Salim Durrani

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 27, 2020 12:02:18 AM |

Next Story