Asia Cup 2023, IND vs Pak | Kohli, Rahul and Kuldeep hold sway in India’s big win against Pakistan

The two classy batters create a string of records en route to their unbroken 233-run partnership and the left-arm spinner scalps five as Babar’s Pakistan suffers a 228-run defeat

September 11, 2023 04:44 pm | Updated September 12, 2023 12:40 pm IST - Colombo

Virat Kohli (122 not out), Kuldeep Yadav (5 for 25) and K.L. Rahul (111 not out) shone during the Asia Cup 2023 super 4 against Pakistan in Colombo on September 11, 2023

Virat Kohli (122 not out), Kuldeep Yadav (5 for 25) and K.L. Rahul (111 not out) shone during the Asia Cup 2023 super 4 against Pakistan in Colombo on September 11, 2023 | Photo Credit: PTI/AP/PTI

The reserve day was added at the last minute, primarily to ensure the broadcaster gets the most out of a marquee clash between India and Pakistan. And the additional day’s play resulted in the broadcaster and the Men in Blue making the most of it.

Not only did India register a facile 228-run win in its opening Super 4s fixture in the Asia Cup against Pakistan, but Rohit Sharma and Co. have ticked virtually all the boxes it desired for, over two days.

If Rohit and Shubman Gill had given India a rollicking start at the R. Premadasa on September 10, Virat Kohli and K.L. Rahul topped it up in a stylish manner. The result was India raced to a gargantuan 356 for two, its joint-highest total against Pakistan in ODIs.

Considering the fact that no team has successfully chased a 301-plus target at the venue, Kohli, who notched up his 47th ODI ton in a nonchalant manner, and Rahul, who registered a stylish hundred on his first competitive outing after a four-month injury lay-off, had virtually batted Pakistan out of the game.

An all-round bowling performance helped India seal the deal with 18 overs to spare. The complete performance saw Kuldeep Yadav, who struggled for rhythm against Nepal in the group stage, bamboozle the Pakistan batters after the pacers had cleaned up the top order.

The day saw two rain breaks. While the first one delayed the resumption of the game by 100 minutes, the second one — with Pakistan reeling at 44 for two in 11 overs — lasted over an hour before the action resumed for India to persist its quest for excellence.

Pakistan, on the other hand, had a forgettable day. After losing Haris Rauf’s services to a strain he had on Sunday, Naseem Shah — the pick of the pacers — also couldn’t complete his full quota. Later in the chase, Agha Salman top-edged a reverse sweep to get a cut near his eye.

On the field though, Kohli, Rahul and Kuldeep were the star acts. While Rahul preferred to earn his runs by balancing strike rotation with the big hits, Kohli was at his best when it came to tiring the bowlers and the fielders simultaneously.

Despite hitting only six fours and two sixes, Kohli had raced to an 84-ball hundred, tapping the ball close to his bat off Shaheen Shah Afridi for a quick single to reach the landmark in the 48th over. The last five overs — despite the duo closing in on the individual landmark — saw India clobber 56 runs, thus helping it cross the 350-run mark.

Once Jasprit Bumrah had forced Imam-ul-Haq to nick one to Gill at second slip, Hardik Pandya bowled the ball of the day to dismiss Babar Azam. The Pakistan captain had no answer to one that jagged back in after pitching to strike into the timber.

Soon after the break, Shardul Thakur proved his utility by seeing Mohammad Rizwan’s back. Then on, for the remaining night, it was a Kuldeep show as the Pakistan middle- and lower-order was made to look mediocre by Kuldeep’s artistry.

With the two injured pacers not taking the field, Kuldeep wound up the game by getting through Faheem Ashram’s defence and earned a deserving fifer. The early finish also gave India additional rest before readying itself for Tuesday’s clash against Sri Lanka.\


India innings: Rohit Sharma c Ashraf b Shadab 56 Shubman Gill c Salman b Afridi 58 Virat Kohli not out 122 KL Rahul not out 111 Extras: 9 (nb-1, w-8) Total: 356/2 in 50 overs

Fall of wickets: 1-121, 2-123

Pakistan bowling: Shaheen Shah Afridi 10-0-79-1, Naseem Shah 9.2-1-53-0, Faheem Ashraf 10-0-74-0, Haris Rauf 5-0-27-0, Shadab Khan 10-1-71-1, Iftikhar Ahmed 5.4-0-52-0.

Pakistan innings: Fakhar Zaman b Kuldeep Yadav 27 Imam-ul-Haqc Shubman Gill b Bumrah 9 Babar Azam b Hardik Pandya 10 Mohammad Rizwan c Rahul b Thakur 2 Agha Salman lbw b Kuldeep Yadav 23 Iftikhar Ahmed c and b Kuldeep Yadav 23 Shadab Khan c Thakur b Kuldeep Yadav 6 Faheem Ashraf b Kuldeep Yadav 4 Shaheen Afridi not out 7 Naseem Shah absent hurt Haris Rauf absent hurt Extras (lb 3, w 14) 17

Total (10 wickets, 32 overs) 128

Fall of Wickets 1-17, 2-43, 3-47, 4-77, 5-96, 6-110, 7-119, 8-128

India bowling: Jasprit Bumrah 5-1-18-1, Mohammed Siraj 5-0-23-0, Hardik Pandya 5-0-17-1, Shardul Thakur 4-0-16-1, Kuldeep Yadav 8-0-25-5, Ravindra Jadeja 5-0-26-0.

(With inputs from PTI)

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.